Castleford’s 2017 Betfred Super League fixtures announced

Castleford Tigers ground
Castleford Tigers ground

Castleford Tigers face an interesting start to the new season when they open their 2017 Betfred Super League campaign at home to newly promoted Leigh Centurions at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle.

The season starts for the Tigers on Friday, February 10 with their first fixture chosen for live coverage on Sky.

They are also on Sky in their second home game against Leeds Rhinos, which will take place on Thursday, March 2.

In between is a tough away game at League Leaders’ Shield winners Warrington Wolves and the first month also brings a trip to Widnes Vikings.

Cas end the regular season away at Catalans Dragons while their Easter double header sees them at home to local rivals Wakefield Wildcats on the Friday and away to St Helens on the Monday.

Super League general manager Mark Foster, said: “2016 was one of the most exciting years ever for Super League and the release of these fixtures will hopefully excite Rugby League fans up and down the country.

“The new league structure is now into its third year and it gives every team the opportunity to achieve their goals, be that winning the Grand Final or survival in the Super League.

“There is so much to look forward to in 2017 for Betfred Super League fans. We have two top teams from the NRL coming over to battle our top clubs in the Dacia World Club Series, a return to Newcastle for the Dacia Magic Weekend in May, Leigh returning to the Super League bringing back local derbies against the likes of Wigan, St Helens and Salford and incredible winner takes all matches in the £1M Game and Betfred Super League Grand Final.”

In order to best prepare the England national team for the 2017 World Cup, the Betfred Super League clubs have agreed to an international pre-season training camp and an international break and there will now be a Betfred Super League double header at the end of May, with clubs playing twice across the second Bank Holiday weekend that month.

The Dacia Magic Weekend 2017 will once again take place at St James’ Park, Newcastle, where six Betfred Super League fixtures will be played on Saturday, May 20 and Sunday, May 21, including Castleford against Leeds Rhinos.

After all 23 rounds of the regular season, the Betfred Super League and the 12-team Kingstone Press Championship will once again split into three separate leagues, the Super 8s, the Qualifiers and Championship Shield. The pick of the action will be screened by the Super League’s main broadcast partner, Sky Sports, who will once again televise around 100 Rugby League games in 2017. The league will also have a new title partner, Betfred.

Castleford Tigers’ fixtures:

Friday Feb 10 - Leigh Centurions (H) 8pm (SKY)

Friday Feb 24 - Warrington Wolves (A) 8pm

Thursday Mar 2 - Leeds Rhinos (H) 8pm (SKY)

Sunday Mar 12 - Widnes Vikings (A) 3pm

Sunday Mar 19 - Salford Red Devils (A) 3pm

Sunday Mar 26 - Catalans Dragons (H) 3:30pm

Friday Mar 31 - Huddersfield Giants (H) 8pm

Thursday Apr 6 - Wigan Warriors (A) 8pm (SKY)

Friday Apr 14 - Wakefield Trinity (H) 8pm (SKY)

Monday Apr 17 - St Helens (A) 3pm

Sunday Apr 23 - Hull FC (A) 3pm

Saturday Apr 29 - Wigan Warriors (H) 7pm

Thursday May 4 - Huddersfield Giants (A) 8pm (SKY)

Sunday May 21 - Leeds Rhinos (MW) 5:30pm (SKY)

Friday May 26 - Widnes Vikings (H) 8pm

Monday May 29 - Leigh Centurions (A) TBC (SKY)

Sunday Jun 4 - St Helens (H) 3:30pm

Sunday Jun 11 - Warrington Wolves (H) 3:30pm

Friday Jun 23 - Leeds Rhinos (A) 8pm

Saturday Jul 1 - Hull FC (H) 7pm

Thursday Jul 6 - Wakefield Trinity (A) 8pm (SKY)

Sunday Jul 16 - Salford Red Devils (H) 3:30pm

Saturday Jul 22 - Catalans Dragons (A) 6pm (SKY)