Panic over! Facebook isn’t making all of your posts and photos public

editorial image
1
Have your say

If you’ve seen the Facebook status warning users that their entire history will become public unless they copy and paste the message - then don’t worry, it’s a hoax.

The message says that everything you have ever posted on the social media site will become public - even messages that have been deleted.

It says “Channel 13 News” have reported on the change to Facebook’s privacy policy, which will become effective from “tomorrow” adding that by posting it, the user will stop Facebook from making their profile public.

It urges the user to copy and paste it at least once onto their Facebook page to ensure their privacy.

The message reads:

Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future.

With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute).

NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste to be on the safe side.

But don’t worry - it is a hoax.

Facebook has sophisticated security controls, checks and balances than requiring users to copy and paste important-sounding messages. The site has a data policy that governs how information is shared, and states that users select what information is public and private. Only users can turn their posts, photos and so on from private to public.

Facebook said: “You may have seen a post telling you to copy and paste a notice to retain control over things you share on Facebook. Don’t believe it. You own your content and can control how it is shared through your privacy settings.”