What’s on this weekend

editorial image
Have your say

THERE is another packed local sports programme this weekend.

Featherstone skipper Stuart Dickens (pictured) and his Rovers teammates will be aiming to bounce back from a 60-12 drubbing against Halifax when they visit Batley Bulldogs for Sunday’s Co-operative Championship match.

The full list of local sports fixtures is:





Batley Bulldogs v Featherstone Rovers (2pm).

Valvoline Academy


Castleford Tigers U 18s v Wigan Warriors U 18s (2.30pm).

Valvoline Cup


Hull FC U 20s v Castleford Tigers U 20s (2.30pm).

Academy Scholarship


Under 15s: Huddersfield Giants v Castleford Tigers (6pm).

Under 16s: Huddersfield Giants v Castleford Tigers (7.45pm).

National Conference League


Conference Challenge Cup, round one: Castleford Panthers v Widnes West Bank.

Division Three: Kippax Knights v Huddersfield Underbank Rangers.

Yorkshire Men’s League


Cutsyke Raiders v Dewsbury Moor; Siddal v Fryston Warriors.

Selby District RL Finals


P and S Engineering Cup Final: Northallerton v Wetherby Bulldogs (at Bigfellas Stadium, Featherstone, 1pm).

Andy Wells Cup Final: Brotherton Bulldogs v Selby Warriors (at Bigfellas Stadium, Featherstone, 3pm)

Women’s League


Featherstone Rovers v Leigh East; Hunslet Hawks v Castleford Panthers.

Yorkshire Under 17s

Top Four play-offs


Premier Division semi-finals: Featherstone Lions v Skirlaugh Bulls.

Yorkshire Under 16s

Top Four play-offs


Division Two semi-finals: Skirlaugh v Methley Royals.

Yorkshire Under 16s League


Premier Division: West Hull v Castleford Lock Lane.


Yorkshire ECB Premier League


Castleford v Rotherham Town.

York & District Senior League


Division Four: Huby v Castleford 2nds.

Central Yorkshire League


Premier Division: Carlton v Methley; Wakefield Thornes v Townville.

Division One: Methley A v East Leeds.

Division Two: Townville A v Gildersome.

Heavy Woollen Cup


Round one: Townville v Kirkheaton; Methley v Morley.

Crowther Cup


Round one: Kirkheaton A v Townville A; Morley A v Methley A.

Wetherby League


Division One: Wetherby v Great Preston.

Division Two: Garforth PC v Kippax Welfare.

Division Four: Great Preston A v Bilton in Ainsty A.

Division Six: Kippax Welfare A v Sicklinghall A.

Fred Fleetwood Cup


Round One: Great Preston v Saxton; Headingley v Kippax Welfare; Wetherby v Ledsham.

Pontefract & District League


Division One: Ackworth v Streethouse; Featherstone v Old Sharlston; Fishlake v Crofton; Frickley Colliery v Fairburn; Monk Bretton v Rothwell; Nostell v Stainborough.

Division Two: Askern Welfare v Wombwell; Barnby Dun v Sprotbrough; Glasshoughton v Whitley Bridge; Hemsworth MW v Hatfield; Thurnscoe v South Kirkby; Yorkshire Main v Hooton Pagnell.

Division Three: Allerton Bywater v Sandal; Darton v Knottingley; Hensall v Normanton; Streethouse 2 v Ackworth 2; Thorne v Frickley Colliery 2; West Bretton v Sykehouse.

Division Four: Brodsworth v Newton Hill; Ferrybridge PS v Bentley; Hundhill Hall v Monk Bretton 2; Peglers v Ryhill; South Kirkby 2 v Fishlake 2; Stainborough 2 v Bullcroft Main.

Division Five: Crofton v Thurnscoe; Notton v Darton; Old Sharlston v Featherstone; Sprotbrough v Barnby Dun; Thorpe Audlin v Pledwick; Whitley Bridge v Garforth.

Division Six: Fairburn v Stanley Falcons; Hatfield Town v Hundhill Hall; Hooton Pagnell v West Bretton; Rothwell v Hensall; Sandal v Wakefield Thornes; Wombwell v Barnsley.

Division Seven: Fenwick v Glasshoughton; Knottingley v Hemsworth MW; Pledwick v Ferrybridge PS; Pollington v Yorkshire Main; Stanley Falcons v Askern Welfare.

Division Eight: Bentley v Thorpe Audlin; Eggborough PS v Brodsworth; Garforth v Nostell; Normanton v Notton; Ryhill v Peglers.

Dyson-Skidmore Trophy


Round one: Whitley Bridge v Rothwell; Fairburn v Ackworth; Frickley Colliery v Nostell St Oswald; Fishlake v Featherstone Town; Yorkshire Main v Askern Welfare; Monk Bretton v Hatfield Town; Thurnscoe v Crofton; Barnby Dun v Streethouse.

Farmery Trophy


Round one: Hensall v Fishlake 2; Bentley Colliery v South Kirkby 2; Ackworth 2 v Bullcroft Main; Thorne Colliery v Brodsworth Main; Normanton St John’s v Ferrybridge C PS; Streethouse 2 v Darton; Ryhill & Havercroft v Newton Hill; Allerton Bywater v Monk Bretton 2.

Dyson-Skidmore Trophy


Round one: Darton v Hensall; Garforth v Wombwell Main; Hatfield Town v Hundhill Hall; Stanley Falcons v Whitley Bridge; Featherstone Town v Rothwell; Barnsley v Crofton; Old Sharlston v Wakefield Thornes; Notton v Barnby Dun.

Pontefract & District Evening League


Allerton Bywater v Hundhill Hall; Fairburn v Featherstone; Ackworth v Thorpe Audlin; Hemsworth MW v South Kirkby; Nostell v Pledwick; Ryhill v Old Sharlston; Newton Hill v Normanton; Stanley v Streethouse.

Pontefract & District Junior League


Under 11s: Castleford v Netherton; Glasshoughton v Pledwick; Streethouse v Stanley Falcons; Conisbrough v Hundhill Hall; Whitley Bridge v Thorpe Audlin.


Under 13s Cup, round one: Ledsham v Ackworth; Townville v Featherstone Town; Castleford v Rothwell; Brodsworth v Hundhill Hall; Whitley Bridge v Sandal.


Under 15s Cup, round one: Netherton v Glasshoughton; Sprotbrough v Streethouse; Featherstone v Conisbrough; Brodsworth v Hundhill Hall.


Under 17s: Fishlake v Whitley Bridge; Glasshoughton v Streethouse; Hundhill Hall v Featherstone.


West Yorkshire League


Division Two: Howden Clough v Great Preston; Ossett Common Rovers v Glasshoughton Welfare WYL; Woodhouse Hill WMC v Featherstone Colliery.


Division Two: Hartshead v Featherstone Colliery.

Castleford & District Sunday League


Premier Divisional Cup, semi-final: Ferrybridge Progressive v Upton Wrangbrook.

First Divisional Cup final: Ladybalk v Ferrybridge C (at Fryston MW, 10.30am).


Division One: FC Pontefract v Ladybalk.