Castleford name squad for Wigan clash

Lee Jewitt.
Lee Jewitt.

Castleford Tigers head coach Daryl Powell has named his 19-man squad to take on Wigan Warriors on Thursday night when First Utility Super League action returns to the Mend-A-Hose Jungle.

Both teams earned victories at Magic Weekend and are sure to be pumped up for a dress rehearsal for the forthcoming Ladbrokes Challenge Cup quarter-final.

Ben Roberts and Nathan Massey both miss out from the Tigers team who won 34-14 over Warrington Wolves at Magic Weekend last Saturday, making way for Lee Jewitt and Will Maher to return to the squad.

The Tigers are keen to get back in front of their home crowd after taking a record number of fans to Newcastle for Magic Weekend.

Captain Luke Gale said: “The support from the masses of Cas fans that made the journey up to Newcastle for Magic Weekend was outstanding and really helped lift us on the day.

“Now it’s an even bigger challenge for us this Thursday night when we take on a strong team in Wigan Warriors. Being back at home will be massive for us and we’re hoping to see plenty of Cas fans getting behind us here on Thursday night.”

Fans can save £2 a ticket by pre-purchasing either in person from the Tigers Den club shop or online from the Tigers online box office.

Castleford Tigers squad v Wigan Warriors:

16. Matt Cook, 19. Ben Crooks, 1. Luke Dorn, 34. Paddy Flynn, 7. Luke Gale, 18. Ryan Hampshire, 14. Lee Jewitt, 23. Will Maher, 12. Mike McMeeken, 15. Paul McShane, 10. Grant Millington, 9. Adam Milner, 17. Junior Moors, 2. Joel Monaghan, 32. Larne Patrick, 22. Gadwin Springer, 5. Denny Solomona, 33. Danny Tickle, 3. Jake Webster.