Castleford Tigers name squad for Rhinos derby

Ben Roberts.
Ben Roberts.

Ben Roberts and Lee Jewitt return for Castleford Tigers in the 19-man squad announced by head coach Daryl Powell for the game against Leeds Rhinos this Thursday night at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle.

The Tigers will still be without injured first teamers Luke Dorn, Oliver Holmes, Michael Shenton and Junior Moors while Matt Cook is expected to pick up a suspension at tonight’s RFL disciplinary hearing.

Cas boss Powell knows his team need to step up to the challenge ahead of Thursday night’s game

He said: “We have had a really honest week since the game against Warrington where we let ourselves down badly from minute one to minute 80.

“We have worked hard as a team to set high standards in everything we do and having slipped off of those standards, Thursday night is a game we need to see a response in to fix some things up and start moving in the right direction.”

Tickets for Thursday night’s game are selling fast and the Tigers are reminding all fans to pre purchase if they can.

Tickets are available from the Tigers Den club shop in Carlton Lanes shopping centre and via the Tigers online box office. Cash turnstiles will be available on the night. Only a handful of tickets remain now for the seated stand.

The Tigers squad v Leeds Rhinos:

21. Ryan Boyle, 19. Ben Crooks, 7. Luke Gale, 18. Ryan Hampshire, 25. Jy Hitchcox, 14. Lee Jewitt, 8. Andy Lynch, 23. Will Maher, 13. Nathan Massey, 12. Mike McMeeken, 15. Paul McShane, 10. Grant Millington, 9. Adam Milner, 24. Greg Minikin, 2. Joel Monaghan, 6. Ben Roberts, 5. Denny Solomona, 22. Gadwin Springer, 3. Jake Webster.