Soames heroics in vain as Methley lose first game

Great Preston's Ian McDermott celebrates dismissing Heckmondwike's Paul Cooper.
Great Preston's Ian McDermott celebrates dismissing Heckmondwike's Paul Cooper.

Despite a brilliant century and a real captain’s knock from Grant Soames, Methley suffered their first defeat in the All Rounder Bradford League’s Championship B.

Soames smashed 20 fours and three sixes in an unbeaten innings of 143, but still ended on the losing side against Methley’s old rivals Wrenthorpe in a high scoring encounter.

Methley went in first and piled up 295-5 from their 50 overs with Ashton Blakey (64) giving Soames good support in a 163-run stand for the fourth wicket. Opener Hamid Khan had earlier contributed 38 from 46 balls.

But Wrenthorpe’s batsmen also found conditions to their liking with Darryl Hendricks (110) becoming the second player to reach a century in the match and putting on 149 in an opening stand with Neil Bourke (77).

Former Methley player Luke Patel then steered his new team to a six-wicket success as he hit an unbeaten 70. It was a struggle for all the Methley bowlers, but Soames followed up his batting heroics by taking 3-69.

Townville are the early Championship B leaders after a third straight win as they beat Bowling Old Lane by six wickets.

Matthew Bremner (80, including 10 fours and a six) and Jack Hughes (59, with nine fours and a six), led their reply in impressive style after Bowling had been dismissed for 200.

Hughes was also among the wickets, taking 2-35 from 13 overs, as Bowling struggled after making a decent start to reach 99-1.

Kulpreet Chhabra claimed 4-47 while Jack Hebden took 3-57 and Nadim Hussain also took a wicket.

A good all-round effort from Jackson Freeman helped Great Preston to beat Heckmondwike by three wickets in the Conference.

Freeman led the Preston attack with 3-45 while there were two wickets each for Lee Russell, Andy Clark and Ian Newton as Heckmondwike were all out for 182 from 39.5 overs.

Preston were reduced to 64-4 in their reply despite 27 from opener Freeman and 21 by Russell.

Stuart Ruddick (22) and David Illingworth (37) led a recovery, but at 136-7 the result was still in the balance.

However, an unbroken stand of 49 between Ian Newton (34 not out) and Clark (23 not out) saw Preston home in the 50th over.

Methley seconds eased to an eight-wicket success against Wrenthorpe II in the Championship B Second XI.

Greg Johnson (73), Jake McCaffery (51 not out) and David Winter (49) brought them home in just 27 overs after Wrenthorpe had been dismissed for 179.

Harry Sullivan (4-59) was the pick of the Methley bowlers while James Gahan and Stephen Preshaw each claimed two wickets.

An unbroken stand of 129 between Ian Jones (63 not out) and Andy Ward (68 not out) clinched a seven-wicket success for Townville seconds against Gomersal II in the Conference Second XI.

Steve Walton also hit 35 and Alec Boothroyd 31 after Gomersal had posted a 218 total with Thomas Mellor taking 5-50 and Luke Slater 3-46.

Michael Wade was an all-round star for Great Preston seconds when they beat Heckmondwike II in the Conference Second XI.

First he scored 63 runs with the bat then took five wickets with the ball as Heckmondwike were all out for 130 in reply to 244-7.

Richard White also scored 93 off 62 balls, hitting five sixes and nine fours, in Preston’s big score. Heckmondwike never threatened to get near it as Wade took 5-25 and Mayur Patel 2-13.