Townville suffer first defeat as run chase comes up short

Sohail Raz bowls for Methley against Wrenthorpe.
Sohail Raz bowls for Methley against Wrenthorpe.

It was unlucky 13 for Townville as they suffered their first-ever defeat in the All Rounder Bradford League’s Championship B last Saturday.

After 12 straight victories, Nick Bresnan’s men were surprisingly beaten by four runs by mid-table Bowling Old Lane.

In a thrilling game Townville looked to be heading for another success as they aimed to chase down a 232 target and wanted eight runs with three wickets left.

But the dismissal of Nadim Hussain after he had made 42 changed the game with Jack Hebden then falling without score and Liam Booth the last man out for nine, leaving Townville all out for 227 with five balls left in the game.

Their run chase got off to a disappointing start when they were reduced to 87-5 despite a fine 51 from opener Jonny Booth, who cracked nine fours.

But Tim Walton, Conor Harvey (14) and Hussain pulled the innings round and took the score to 205-6 before Walton’s 83-ball knock of 72 came to an end after he had smashed five sixes and four fours.

An unbroken sixth-wicket stand of 107 between Ayyaz Akram (62 not out) and Bilal Ejaz (51 not out) had earlier proved crucial for Old Lane.

It helped them to post a challenging 231-5 with other useful contributions coming from Adal Islam (37) and Ahsan Butt (34). Pick of the Townville bowlers was Hebden, with 2-35 from 12 overs.

Townville still have a 45-point lead over Wrenthorpe who defeated third-placed Methley by 109 runs.

Former Methley player Luke Patel (64) and Jonathan Rudge (30) helped Wrenthorpe to make 187-9 off their 50 overs when they went in first.

Edward Walmsley (3-32), Samuel Mofokeng (3-63) and Marcus Walmsley (2-43) all bowled well with hopes high that Methley could knock the runs off to move up to second.

However, Methley’s batsmen never got going in their reply and were all out for a hugely disappointing 78 as Wrenthorpe skipper Neil Bourke picked up 4-14.

David Winter, promoted from the second team, top scored with 17 with Marcus Walmsley making 16.

Australian Jackson Freeman made an unbeaten 116 to steer Great Preston to a seven-wicket win over Azaad as they paced their run chase well to stay in second place in the Conference.

They were chasing a big 232 target, but got home with almost four overs to spare as Freeman led the way with an innings that contained a six and 19 fours.

He was joined in a third-wicket partnership of 122 by James Marston (52) while Lee Russell contributed 24 and Danusha Ranasinghe 21.

In Azaad’s score of 231-6, Ian Newton took 3-57, Russell 2-25 and Freeman 1-51.

Methley seconds suffered the same fate as the senior side as they were made to pay for a poor batting display against their Wrenthorpe counterparts in the Championship B Second XI.

Despite 42 from James Gahan and 25 by Jason Baddeley, they were dismissed for only 93 with Wrenthorpe knocking the runs off for the loss of one wicket.

Second-placed Great Preston enjoyed a five wicket win over Liversedge in the Conference Second XI.

Jagrit Gyawali took 6-29 as Liversedge, despite 57 from Luke Newsome, were bowled out for 121. There were also two wickets each for Richard White and Mayur Patel.

Great Preston eased to their target with White (30 not out) top scoring and handy contributions from Alastair Firth (26), Gyawali (26) and Lee Mosby (23).

Luke Slater (4-30) and Ian Jones (3-15) bowled Townville seconds to a 23-run win over Oulton.

Thomas Mellor also claimed 2-35 as Oulton were all out for 170 in reply to Townville’s 193-9 when Steve Walton made 48, Mellor 48 not out and Alec Boothroyd 30.