Ackworth all-rounder Hepworth enjoys an outstanding season

editorial image

FORMER Leicestershire county player Peter Hepworth won three awards at Pontefract and District Cricket League’s annual presentation night.

Hepworth (pictured), who played for his home village team Ackworth last season, won the Division One batting prize with an average of 115.67.

He won the all-rounder prize for the top three divisions with 1,638 points and he received a special award for scoring 1,388 league runs.

Award winners - Division One: Champions: Streethouse. Senior batting: Peter Hepworth (Ackworth) 1,388 runs (average 115.67). Junior batting: Jake Abdy (Fairburn) 338 runs (average 24.14). Senior bowling: Lee Hurst (Nostell) 60 wickets (average 9.72).

Division Two: Champions: Stainborough. Senior batting: Dean Smith (Askern) 459 runs (average 65.57). Junior batting: Luke Ogden (Monk Bretton) 380 runs (average 38.00). Senior bowling: David Carr (Sprotbrough) 40 wickets (average 11.15). Junior bowling: Josh Gillies (Askern) 36 wickets (average 16.39).

Division Three: Champions: Yorkshire Main. Senior batting: Alistair Cunliffe (Ackworth) 512 runs (average 102.40). Junior batting: James Davies (Sykehouse) 476 runs (average 25.05). Senior bowling: Martin Spavin (Yorkshire Main) 57 wickets (average 12.42). Junior bowling: James Calvert (Hensall) 47 wickets (average 15.85).

Division Four: Champions: Streethouse. Senior batting: Steven Rigby (Hundhill Hall) 709 runs (average 59.08). Junior batting: Dylan Moran (South Kirkby) 385 runs (avetrage 29.62). Senior bowling: Stephen Mowbray (Knottingley) 43 wickets (average 10.37). Junior bowling: Peter Ferguson (Hundhill Hall) 47 wickets (average 13.09).

Division Five: Champions: Peglers. Senior batting: Paul Lawson (Notton) 850 runs (average 60.71). Junior batting: Joe Bakali (Featherstone) 348 runs (average 29.00). Senior bowling: Nigel Rider (Crofton) 47 wickets (average 10.23); Junior bowling: Ben Wood (Darton) 30 wickets (average 15.10).

Division Six: Champions: Thorpe Audlin. Senior batting: Jamie Gaskell (Thorpe Audlin) 921 runs (average 57.56). Junior batting: Corey Holdgate (Stanley Falcons) 406 runs (average 25.38). senior bowling: Stephen Clowse (Thorpe Audlin) 38 wickets (average 9.03).

Division Seven: Champions: Wakefield Thornes. Senior batting: Darren Hyde (Pledwick) 430 runs I(average 50.75). Junior batting: Rhys Weaver (Fairburn) 295 runs (average 35.60). senior bowling: Andrew Wright (Normanton): 45 wickets (average 8.22). Junior bowling: Robbie Bancroft (Fairburn) 37 wickets (avetrage 11.16).

Division Eight: Champions: Ferrybridge C Power Station. Senior batting: Ben Tucker (Ferrybridge) 316 runs (average 52.67). Junior batting: Connor Fisher (Stanley Falcons) 279 runs (average 31.00). Senior bowling: Stuart Carrick (Fenwick) 52 wickets (average 6.27). Junior bowling: Patrick Mullins (Ryhill and Havercroft) 28 wickets (average 9.89).

Evening League: Champions: Streethouse.

Wicketkeeper Divisions One to Three: Simon Ward (Old Sharlston), Ady Thackray (Glasshoughton) both 31 victims. Divisions Four to Eight: Jamnie Evans (Thorpe Audlin) 30.

All rounder Divisions One to Three: Peter Hepworth (Ackworth) 1,638 points. Junior: Josh Gillies (Askern) 698. Divisions Four to eight: Jamie Gaskell (Thorpe Audlin) 1,171 points. Junior: Jack Danks (South Kirkby) 656.

Special award: Peter Hepworth (Ackworth) for scoring 1,388 league runs.