Ackworth pile up runs in sixth successive win

Streethouse captain Mark Robinson was in excellent batting form in last weekend's two victories.
Streethouse captain Mark Robinson was in excellent batting form in last weekend's two victories.
Share this article

Ackworth maintained their title bid in Torbeck Pontefract League Division One by winning a high-scoring game against Hooton Pagnell.

Chris Welburn (91no), Dale Longfield (74) and Peter Hepworth (50) were in outstanding form as Ackworth recorded their sixth straight league win by overhauling Hooton Pagnell’s 267-6.

Charlie Kaye (78) was Hooton’s top scorer.

Second-placed Ackworth are eight points adrift of leaders Fairburn who they visit in a top of the table clash on Saturday.

Defending champions Fairburn made it seven wins from seven league matches this season by beating Frickley Colliery.

Craig Piggott (62), Guy Abdy (61) and Jake Abdy (45) steered Fairburn to 225-9. Steve Secker and Greg Johnson both hit half centuries as Frickley replied with 203-6.

Streethouse enjoyed a successful weekend.

They beat Featherstone on Saturday and then defeated Slaithwaite in the National Village Cup the next day.

Adam Perry (66no) and James Dunn (52) guided Featherstone to 186-5 but it wasn’t enough to deny Streethouse an eight-wicket success.

Jonathan Hughes (94) and skipper Mark Robinson (58) shared a 122-run opening stand as Streethouse knocked off the runs.

Robinson was also in excellent form in Sunday’s cup win at Huddersfield League club Slaithwaite who were bowled out for 146 by Mick Tucker (5-26) and Hughes (3-19).

In reply, Robinson (46), Paul Langley (29no), Callum Honeyman (28no) and Hughes (26) eased Streethouse to a seven-wicket win.

In the regional final on June 16, Streethouse host neighbours Old Sharlston who had a walk-over in their semi-final against Halifax League Thornton.

All-rounder Dale McMullan was in top form as Old Sharlston collected maximum points in Saturday’s Division One game against Monk Bretton.

McMullan (4-7) and Rob Simpson (3-19) routed Monk Bretton for 87, replying to Sharlston’s 155 that included 45 by Simon Ward and 34 from McMullan.

Rothwell bagged their first league win this season at South Kirkby.

Mark Bentley (58) guided Rothwell to a nine-wicket success after Mark Symmons (3-13) and Chris St Clair-Whicker (3-22) routed Kirkby for 79.

Division Two leaders Nostell crashed to their first league defeat when they were skittled for 40 by Askern’s Scott Mantovani (6-11).

Sandal climbed to second when Karl Hewitt (73), Matthew Westwood (67) and Ray Aignworth (4-14) steered them to a 102-run win at Barnby Dun.

Whitley Bridge achieved their first league victory in great style by trouncing Thurnscoe.

Batting first, Whitley started badly when they slumped to 46-4 but Gareth Jones and Simon Vaux led an excellent recovery.

Jones hammered 10 fours in an unbeaten 61 and shared a 73-run partnership with Vaux whose 44 featured one six and eight fours.

An unbroken 79-run stand between Jones and Nathaniel Reeson (39no) took Whitley’s total to 210-6.

Thurnscoe’s reply was soon in trouble when they collapsed from 21-0 to 67-6.

They were eventually all out for 117, with Matt Draper claiming 4-28, Lewis Longstaff 3-26 and Grant McLean 2-27.

Knottingley slipped to a three-wicket defeat against bottom side Hatfield.

Nicky Kirton top-scored with 74 as Knottingley posted 179 but Hatfield overhauled the target, despite Andrew Lund’s 4-22.

In Division Three, Streethouse 2nds bagged a thrilling last over four-wicket victory at Hundhill Hall.

Opener Steve Rigby hammered six sixes and six fours in a sparkling 97 and Josh Gill struck 40 in Hundhill’s total of 221-9.

Streethouse’s best bowlers were Mick Tucker (4-47) and Damien Bowles (3-45).

Streethouse’s reply started well with a 63-run partnership between Jonathan Nickerson and Damien Bowles, whose 77 featured four sixes and eight fours.

Tucker (37) and Dylan Bowles (32no) were also vital contributors as Streethouse won with three balls to spare.

Leaders West Bretton beat Allerton Bywater by 111 runs .

Jonny Winwood (56) and David Hoyle (43) guided West Bretton to 190-8 and Chris Degnan (5-26) toppled Allerton for 79.

Second-placed Glasshoughton defeated Frickley 2nds by eight wickets.

Richard Caunce (5-60) bowled out Frickley for 163, which Glasshoughton comfortably overhauled thanks to an unbroken third wicket stand between in-form pair Rob Sperrin (62no) and Liam Hopton (44no).

Richard Whaley (6-39) was Hensall’s match-winner as they won a low-scoring game at Brodsworth.

The league’s Dyson-Skidmore Trophy, AJS Teamwear Trophy and Heywood-Williams Trophy second round ties are scheduled to be played on Sunday.

The ties are:

Dyson-Skidmore Trophy: Sandal v Barnby Dun, Hemsworth v Askern, Rothwell v Frickley, Hooton Pagnell v South Kirkby, Stainborough v Wombwell, Sprotbrough v Fishlake, Streethouse v Nostell, Ackworth v Old Sharlston.

AJS Teamwear Trophy: Streethouse v West Bretton, Monk Bretton v Hensall, Allerton Bywater v Pledwick, Frickley v Bentley, Rossington v Yorkshire Main, South Kirkby v Hundhill Hall, Thorne v Glasshoughton, Ferrybridge v Garforth.

Heywood-Williams Trophy: Sprotbrough v Old Sharlston, Featherstone v Stanley Falcons, Darton v Crofton, Stainborough v Rothwell, Whitley Bridge v Thorpe Audlin, Newton Hill v Thurnscoe, Fishlake v Fairburn, Wombwell v Hundhill Hall.