Allerton end dreadful run

Fred Gunthorpe's 68 was in vain for Ackworth A against Yorkshire Main.
Fred Gunthorpe's 68 was in vain for Ackworth A against Yorkshire Main.

ALLERTON Bywater boosted their chances of avoiding relegation from Torbeck Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Three with their first league win since May.

They won by 44 runs at Thorne Colliery to increase the pressure on fellow strugglers Ackworth A, West Bretton and Frickley Colliery A who all lost.

On an unpredictable wicket, opener Paul Wadsworth hit a vital half-century and Michael White struck 34 as Allerton posted 147.

Thorne’s best bowler was spinner Mizhar Mir (5-18).

In reply, Andy Kunkel (3-28), Matt Weaver (3-15), Richard Lamb (2-23) and Jonathan Ding (2-20) toppled Thorne for 103, despite an unbeaten half-century by Chris Broughton.

Bottom side Ackworth A slipped to a narrow defeat at leaders Yorkshire Main.

Tom Martindale claimed 7-44 as Main were restricted to 214-9. Veteran Fred Gunthorpe led Ackworth’s reply with an excellent 68.

They were left needing 13 runs for victory off the final over but managed only nine and closed on 210-8.

Streethouse retained a 10-point lead in Division One by crushing strugglers Hooton Pagnell.

Richard Vigars (46), Liam Geddis (45no), Ismail Patel (35) and Paul Langley (33) steered Streethouse to 244.

Patel (4-15) and Martin Rhodes (4-15) skittled Hooton for 63 in reply.

Streethouse will be aiming to complete the first leg of a potential league and cup double when they meet Division Two side Stainborough in Sunday’s Dyson-Skidmore Trophy final at Ackworth.

Ackworth bounced from from two defeats against Streethouse the previous weekend with a four-wicket success against Nostell.

Richard Young hit 10 fours in an unbeaten 68 to guide Ackworth to victory after Chris Wathen (5-34) had toppled Nostell for 173. Nick Thompson (35) and Jordan Harvey (28no) were Ackworth’s other main scorers.

Fairburn recorded their fourth win in five games by beating former leaders Rothwell. Tight bowling from all Fairburn’s bowlers saw Rothwell dismissed for 126 in the 44th over.

Arunava Banerjee snapped up 4-25 and Guy Abdy climed 2-28. Ian Jones (49no) and Guy Abdy (45no) shared an unbroken third wicket stand of 87 as Fairburn knocked off the runs with 15 overs to spare.

Featherstone’s relegation worries increased with a six-wicket defeat at neighbours Old Sharlston.

Featherstone were routed for 120, despite Ryan Armitage’s 46 and skipper James Dunn’s 39.

In reply, Steve Roberts hit an unbeaten 42 as Sharlston eased to a six-wicket win.

In Division Two, Whitley Bridge lost by 19 runs to bottom side Darton.

Whitley were restricted to 195-8, chasing Darton’s 214-7 that included half centuries by Andy Burkill and David Hawley.

Matthew Stones (42), James Pearson (31) and Matthew Daniel (27no) were Whitley’s top scorers.

Daniel shared an unboken ninth wicket partnership of 33 with James Metcalfe (7no).

Glasshoughton’s bowlers were put to the sword in their home match against Askern. Josh Gillies (108no) and Andrew Lunn (74no) led the way as Askern piled up a formidable 283-4.

Glasshoughton’s reply fell well short when they were all out for 174, despite Liam Hopton’s 76.