Allerton promoted as Hundhill slip up

Lee Stuckey hit a century in Normanton's two-run win at Hensall.
Lee Stuckey hit a century in Normanton's two-run win at Hensall.

Allerton Bywater snatched the second promotion place in Pontefract Cricket League Division Three on the final day of the season.

Allerton’s nine-wicket win at Yorkshire Main put them five points clear of Hundhill Hall who missed out on achieving promotion for the second successive season when they lost by 86 runs at lowly Darton.

Matt Longdon’s unbeaten 68 steered Allerton an easy victory after Kris Thickett (4-32) had toppled Main for 96.

Hundhill gave a poor display at Darton whose win ensure they avoided relegation.

Nick Hunter (52) and Dave Hawley (42) led Darton to 186-8. Peter Ferguson (3-37) and Nathan Hurcomb (2-39) were Hundhill’s best bowlers.

Hundhill’s batting let them down as they slumped from 70-3 to 120 all out in reply. Steve Rigby (25), Simon Leach (24), Simon Jewitt (18) and Andrew Hurcomb (12) were the only batsmen who reached double figures.

Glasshoughton finished fourth after losing by 173 runs to champions West Bretton, for whom Jonny Winwood struck 79 and Chris Degnan snapped up 5-22.

Gareth Portman (4-37) and Nigel Pinfield (31) were Glasshoughton’s best performers.

All-rounders Jordan Page and Craig Tennant were outstanding for Streethouse 2nds in a 57-run success against relegated Thorne.

Page (52) and Tennant (33) led Streethouse to 146 and Page then bagged 3-11 and Tennant 3-31 to rout Thorne for 89.

Lee Stuckey hit 104 as Normanton posted 158-6 at Hensall who were bowled out in reply for 156, despite Chris Thornton’s 79.

Notton pipped Newton Hill for the Division Five championship because they had one more 10-point win than their rivals after the teams finished level on points at the top.

Notton won by 15 runs at Sprotbrough 2nds and Newton Hill lost by 66 runs at Thorpe Audlin.

In Division Six, Allerton Bywater 2nds were routed for 52 in an eight-wicket defeat against Stanley Falcons and Hundhill Hall 2nds lost by seven wickets to Darton 2nds.

Ferrybridge 2nds ended their Division Seven campaign on a winning note by beating Pledwick 2nds. Robert Brain (3-24), Atif Basharat (2-31) and John Goddard (2-3) toppled Pledwick for 98. Ferrybridge’s reply started badly but they were rescued by Mark Hinchcliffe (42) and Brain (26) as they won by five wickets.

Glasshoughton 2nds lost by 56 runs to West Bretton 2nds. Peter Cockroft (4-30) and Garat Dakin (3-59) bowled well to limit Bretton to 185.

In reply, Glasshoughton openers Mick Hegarty and Tony Gale put on 47 but they then collapsed to 129 all out.

Andy Simpson hit 20 on his farewell Glasshoughton appearance.