Champions Townville set new Premier points record

Kyllin Vardhan, who finished as the top run scorer in the CYL Premier Division.
Kyllin Vardhan, who finished as the top run scorer in the CYL Premier Division.

Townville rounded off their championship winning season with another victory to finish with a record number of points in the CYL Premier Division.

A fantastic league season has seen Nick Bresnan’s men win 20 of their 22 matches with only one defeat to finish with 115 points, 24 ahead of nearest challengers Methley.

Townville’s Kylinn Vardhan finished as the top run scorer in the division and was the only player to top 1,000 runs for the season. He was also joint top wicket taker along with team-mate Jack Hughes, with both claiming 58 victims.

Both took four wickets each and needed to bowl well to ensure Townville finished with a victory in their last game against Hunslet Nelson.

After being put in, they had been dismissed for only 103 with Tim Walton (18) top scoring. But Nelson were then bowled out even more cheaply as they could only muster 71 runs against an attack led by Hughes (4-25) and Vardhan (4-14) with one wicket each for Richie Bresnan and Dean Woolsey.

Methley finished runners-up for the third successive year after beating Birstall by five wickets.

Birstall were all out for 115 as Marcus Walmsley took 4-29, John Rickers 3-24, Jack Rich 2-23 and Josh Thurwell 1-29.

Methley were then sent on their way to victory by openers Nick Connolly (30) and Richard Foster (34) and reached their target with five wickets to spare in the 26th over.

Methley A lost their final game by 75 runs to East Leeds, but avoided relegation from Division One, finishing third from bottom.

Greg Johnson hit 48 and Amol Vani 27, but they could only make 103-7 in a restricted game in reply to their opponents’ 178-8 when Ben Waite claimed 3-37.

Townville A ended without a win in Division Two, losing their last game by 10 wickets to champions Azaad after being bowled out for 136 with Dale Jones (32) and Kieran Samuels (21) top scoring.

Final standings:

Premier Division: Townville 115 points, Methley 91, Wakefield Thornes 87, Carlton 79, Wrenthorpe 71, Birstall 59, Hunslet Nelson 53, Mirfield PC 49, Ossett 45, Altofts 41, Batley 39, Northowram 36.

Division One: Hopton Mills 95 points, Scholes 88, Wakefield SM 85, Oulton 82, Liversedge 80, East Ardsley 70, East Leeds 67, Buttershaw SP 64, Wakefield Thornes A 51, Methley A 24, Mirfield 20, Ossett A 13.

Division Two: Azaad 106 points, Mirfield PC A 83, Thornhill 82, Carlton A 81, Birstall A 74, Altofts A 71, Caribbean 68, Wrenthorpe A 61, Batley A 52, Buttershaw SP A 48, East Ardsley A 45, Townville A 3.