Champions Fairburn lose top spot

Ackworth under 15s won the Pontefract Junior League's Alison Cup, beating Sprotbrough by 35 runs in the final at Hensall.
Ackworth under 15s won the Pontefract Junior League's Alison Cup, beating Sprotbrough by 35 runs in the final at Hensall.

Ackworth stepped up their Pontefract and District Cricket League Division One title challenge with Saturday’s 20-run win against defending champions Fairburn.

Openers Joe Seddon (547) and Danny Bridges (27) led Ackworth to 157-7 in a 26-over match.

Arunava Banerjee (3-36) and Guy Abdy (2-36) were Fairburn’s most successful bowlers.

Dale Longfield (4-77) and Craig Walker (3-48) soon had Fairburn’s reply in trouble.

Jake Abdy (49) led a fightback but Fairburn finished short on 137-8.

Fairburn’s defeat cost them top spot. They are now one point behind Sandal who won by six wickets at West Bretton thanks to Ian Shuttleworth (85), Kieran Dransfield (40) and Sam Noden (31no).

South Kirkby’s title hopes were dented by a home defeat against Hatfield Town.

Alec Elliott (7-28) toppled Kirkby for 138, despite Brayden Clark’s 45 and Adam Rollin’s 39.

Dave Rollin’s 5-55 was in vain for Kirkby as Hatfield scraped a one-wicket victory.

Frickley Colliery lost by five wickets at home to Askern Welfare in a reduced overs match.

Inderjit Singh Hayre and Mohammed Uzair Ali both struck half centuries as Frickley posted 199-4 in 37 overs.

However, it wasn’t enough to deny Askern who knocked off the runs in 34 overs, with Cory Deere (35) top scoring.

Frickley’s Luke Malone claimed 2-41 and Mohammed Shoaib 2-49.

Streethouse won by 27 runs at neighbours Old Sharlston in a 26-over contest.

Wayne Walker (2-22) and Ste Roberts (2-11) limited Streethouse to 130-6 which included 43 by Geoff Hunt and 35 from Mohammed Bashir.

Roberts (37no) held Sharlston’s reply together but he lacked suppport as they were kept at 103-8 by Scott Bland (4-50) and Damian Bowles (4-23).

It was a disappointing weekend for Brook-Walton.

Brook’s Division One fixture at Hooton Pagnell on Saturday was abandoned without a ball being bowled and they failed in their bid to reach the National Village Cup quarter-finals when they lost by 162 runs at home to Yorkshire Premier League North side Sessay the next day after they were dismissed for 86.

In Division Two, Hemsworth Miners Welfare won by two wickets at leaders Rossington Main who were dismissed for 132 by Max Heritage (3-29), Jack Heritage (2-48) and Bailey Matthews (2-13).

Hemsworth’s reply was floundering at 23-4 but Lee Perks (39), James Gorton (37), Jack Heritage (18no) and Max Heritage (12no) rescued them.

Rossington are nine points clear of second-placed Knottingley.

Whitley Bridge were indebted to Lewis Longstaff (3-24), Matthew Daniel (33 and 2-40), Matthew Draper (2-33) and Daniel Montgomery (26 and 1-25) for a one-wicket win at Featherstone Town.

Featherstone’s defeat was hard on Adam Perry (47), Danny Robinson (31no), Tom Wragg (4-48), Todd Davis (2-34) and Chris Appleyard (2-27).

In the only other Division Two game played, Peter Lawson (60no), Jonathan Habe (32), Robert Jackson (5-36) and Lee Learie (3-47) gave Notton the edge at Stainborough, for whom Murray Raw hit 66 and Joe McLee 31.

There was no play in the Allerton Bywater-Knottingley, Darton-Glasshoughton and Rothwell-Barnby Dun fixtures.

Soldiers face South Kirkby Social in the John Ward Memorial Cricket Knock-out League at the Old Mill ground tonight (Thursday, 6pm).

Next Monday, South Kirkby Reds play Gold Pot, while Upton Rugby Club take on Nags XI next Wednesday (6pm).

Ackworth under 15s won the Pontefract Junior League’s Alison Cup, beating Sprotbrough by 35 runs in the final at Hensall.

Due to a player shortage, Ackworth’s team, managed by Kevin Booth, comprised a mixture of under 15s and under 13’s, as it has all season.

Ackworth posted 133-7 in a 30 over match, with Oliver Poskitt (34) and Joe Webster (32) top scoring.

Sprotbrough’s Jacob Watson claimed three wickets and Reeves Boocock two.

Sprotbrough, who were previously unbeaten, were dismissed for 98 by Ackworth’s impressive bowling and fielding.

Their top scorer Dan Wright (35) was caught and bowled by under 13s player Will Gillespie who bagged four wickets.

Captain Keelan Booth also collected four wickets while Poskitt snapped up two.

The MOM award went to Ackworth wicket keeper Ciaran Stenton, an under 13s player.