Day bags four wickets as Ledsham end lean spell

All-rounder Adam Rothera hit 29 and claimed 2-50 in Ledsham's win at Garforth Parish Church.
All-rounder Adam Rothera hit 29 and claimed 2-50 in Ledsham's win at Garforth Parish Church.

Ledsham ended a five-match losing run in Wetherby Cricket League Division One with Saturday’s four wicket victory at Garforth Parish Church.

William Day (4-26), Thomas Delmont (2-22) and Adam Rothera (2-50) restricted fourth-placed Garforth to 151-8 which included a half-century by James Baldwin.

Openers Rothera (29) and Joshua Ware (14) gave Ledsham’s reply a solid start.

Ollie Baron (30), Simeon Brambrook (30) and John Speight (22no) completed the job as Ledsham recorded only their third victory in 11 league matches this season.

In Division Two, Kippax fell 30 runs short in a run chase at Scholes.

Gul Fida Hussain (51), Danusha Ranasinghe (33) and Scott Smith (30) guided Scholes to 188-9.

Kippax’s Sharaz Ali took 3-37 and Imran Mohammed Pandor 3-35.

Kippax’s reply started badly when they quickly lost openers Daniel Hall and Sam Ward.

Connor Williams (33) tried to hold the innings together but wickets continued to tumble.

Wasim Patel, batting at number seven, led a recovery with an excellent 40.

He received good support from Museji Bhoola (29) but the damage had been done earlier in the innings and Kippax were eventually all out for 148.

Unbeaten Division Four leaders South Milford A were far too good for Ledsham A.

Samuel Thomas hammered an unbeaten 151 and Matty Paul struck 81 as Milford raced to 338-3.

In reply, Ledsham were skittled for 37, with Mitchell Morley contributing 26.

Paul Dewhirst was the second highest scorer with two.

Kippax A beat Scholes A by 100 runs.

Paul Rhodes (82) and Paul Eastwood (63) provided the backbone of Kippax’s total of 186-6 which proved well beyond Scholes’ reach.

Danny O’Connor bagged 4-26 and John Henshaw 4-29 as Scholes were dismissed for 86, despite 23 from Giaan Singh Duggal and 20 by Chris Bradley, batting at number 10.

James Goodall (1-17) and Ian Prince (1-11) were Kippax’s other wicket-takers.