Double joy for Ackworth as they topple leaders and win trophy final

Dale Woolsey's unbeaten 131 was in vain for South Kirkby in Saturday's Division One derby defeat against Frickley Colliery, for whom Inderjit Singh Hayre hammered 135.
Dale Woolsey's unbeaten 131 was in vain for South Kirkby in Saturday's Division One derby defeat against Frickley Colliery, for whom Inderjit Singh Hayre hammered 135.

ACKWORTH enjoyed a highly successful weekend by inflicting Pontefract and District Cricket League Division One leaders Streethouse’s first league defeat this season and beating Hatfield Town in the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy final.

Host club Ackworth, who were beaten by now defunct Brook-Walton by 62 runs in last year’s Dyson-Skidmore Trophy decider, went one better last Sunday.

They won by 65 runs after Danny Bridges (48) and Joe Seddon (40) steered them to 196.

Shaun Longfield (5-40), Jordan Page (2-18) and Kieran McIntyre (2-11) toppled Hatfield for 131, despite Ellis Pattison’s 36.

Third-placed Ackworth dented Streethouse’s title bid the previous day by beating them by five wickets at Whinney Lane.

Dale Longfield (4-31) and Chris Wathen (3-44) dismissed Streethouse for 138 and Bridges hit 50 and Wathen 33 as Ackworth overhauled the target in 38.2 overs.

Streethouse are now only 18 points clear of second-placed Fairburn who trounced West Bretton by 163 runs.

Craig Piggott clouted four sixes and 15 fours in a superb 97 off 102 balls as Fairburn piled up 294-5 which also featured an unbeaten 60 off 52 deliveries by Danny Murray and 43 from Jake Abdy.

Daniel Fitzpatrick (5-26) and Kevin Watson (2-32) sent Brettonn’s reply collapsing from 72-2 to 131 all out after Tom Clifford (55) had given them a solid start.

Dale Woolsey’s magnificent unbeaten 131 was in vain for South Kirkby in a five-wicket derby defeat against Frickley Colliery.

Woolsey, Adam Rollin (34) and Steve Secker (33) guided Kirkby to 243-6 but Frickley had the match-winner in Injerjit Singh Hayre.

Hayre hammered a brilliant 135 and Lovepreet Singh chipped in with 46 as Frickley knocked off the runs with one over to spare.

Old Sharlston’s six-wicket defeat at Rossington Main was tough on captain Jase Ball who struck 51 and claimed 3-47 from 11 overs.

Greg Mann (71no) and Joel Evans (56) shared a match-winning unbroken century fifth wicket stand for Rossington.

Mark Ilman (78), Aaron Gillies (57) and David Longley (5-43) led Askern to a 32-run victory at Hootoon Pagnell and Hatfield won by 101 runs at Barnby Dun.

Division Two promotion contenders Glasshoughton and Hemsworth Miners Welfare both suffered setbacks.

Glasshoughton lost by four wickets at Whitley Bridge and Hemsworth slipped to a 37-run defeat at Rothwell.

Alex Clemo (65) and Rob Sperrin (41) top-scored as Glasshoughton posted 180 but it wasn’t enough to deny Whitley who snatched a last ball win with Ben Lodge finishing unbeaten on 84.

Hemsworth’s James Gorton (4-30), Jake Taberner (3-42) and Jack Heritage (2-27) limited Rothwell to 141 which featured an unbeaten 47 by Rowan Quarmby. Hemsworth’s reply was soon in trouble and they slumped to 104 all out.

Skipper Paul Lawson (100no), Sam Mackay (54no) and Peter Lawson (46) led Notton to 280-2 at Featherstone whose spirited reply fell short on 217-9, despite Eddie Larrington’s 95 and captain Dave Merrick’s 42.

Knottingley narrowly lost a low-scoring game against Stainborough.

Craig Larrington (3-41), Tony Dove (3-5) and Chamila Wijesinghe (2-41) routed Stainborough for 109.

Johnn Clark (27) and Andrew Lind (24) gave Knottingley’s reply a good start before Tom Reid (6-35) sent them reeling from 56-1 to 92 all out.

Replying to Crigglestone’s 225-8, strugglers Allerton Bywater managed only 62.

Captain Andrew Wood (84no), Joe Wilkinson (4-41) and Will Turn er(4-24) gave Darton the upper hand at Brodsworth Main, for whom William Drury hit 67 off 67 balls and David Merryweather claimed 4-30 from 12 overs.