Glasshoughton’s run chase falls short in trophy clash

Last season's beaten finalists South Kirkby are through to the second round after knocking out Glasshoughton.
Last season's beaten finalists South Kirkby are through to the second round after knocking out Glasshoughton.

Last season’s losing finalists South Kirkby reached the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy second round with a 36-run win at Glasshoughton.

Adam Rollin (67), Jacob Peacock (57) and Liam Rollin (42) guided Kirkby to a formidable 257-8.

Glasshoughton’s spirited reply fell short on 221-9 despite George Swaby’s 41 and Alex Clemo’s 32.

Ackworth were five wickets winners against Askern who were bowled out for 162.

Ryan Greatrick (58no) and Jake Abdy (41) led the way as Fairburn overhauled Featherstone’s 142 that included 37 by James Dunn.

Joint Division One leaders Sandal bowed out with a five wicket home defeat against Darton.

Barnby Dun achieved a thrilling one wicket win at Stainborough.

Luke Smith (70), Jonny Winwood (61) and David Hoyle (56no) guided West Bretton to a six-wicket win in a high-scoring clash against Hooton Pagnell.

Scott Exley (106no) and Steve Hardaker (87) top scored in Hooton’s total of 242-5.

Rothwell conceded their home game against trophy holders Brook-Walton and Notton conceded their match at Whitley Bridge.

Streethouse reached the AJS Teamwear Trophy second round by beating Kilnhurst Colliery by seven -wickets.

Josh Cooke (55) led Kilnhurst to 154-9 but it wasn’t enough to deny Streethouse, for whom Jordan Page (75no) and Steve Roberts (61 retired not out) shared a vital stand and Stuart Cramm bagged 5-27.

Richard Wood’s unbeaten half-century was in vain for Ferrybridge in a three-wicket defeat against Nostell.

Lincoln Steele finished unbeaten on 53 as Nostell overhauled Ferrybridge’s 156-7.

Pollington trounced Bullcroft Main by 125 runs.

Pollington recovered from losing openers Simon Smales and Nigel Punton cheaply to post 198-5 thanks to Moosa Patel (68no) and Mark Punton (51).

Patel claimed 4-12 as Bullcroft were routed for 73.

Bentley beat Fenwick by seven wickets and Yorkshire Main won at Thurnscoe Institute.

Brodsworth, Crigglestone and Thorpe Audlin all had walk-overs against Sykehouse, Crofton and Ackworth respectively.

In the Heywood-Williams Trophy, Brook-Walton achieved a 10-wicket win against Glasshoughton who managed only 86-6 in 40 overs.

Owen Smith snapped up 5-18 as Brodsworth won by nine wickets at Garforth.

Sandal conceded their match at Fairburn.