Kirton’s ton highlight of Knottingley’s win

Nicky Kirton struck five sixes and 11 fours in a rapid 106.
Nicky Kirton struck five sixes and 11 fours in a rapid 106.

Opener Nick Kirton hammered a superb century as Knottingley maintained their Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Two promotion challenge by beating Darton by 59 runs.

Knottingley are third, just four points adrift of joint leaders Rossington Main and Stainborough.

Kirton struck five sixes and 11 fours in a rapid 106. He shared a crucial opening stand with Matthew Stones (67) in Knottingley’s total of 213-7.

John Clark (4-67), Paul Barnes (3-24) and Craig Larrington (2-35) bowled out Darton for 154.

Gareth Portman (62) and Mohammed Tokir (38) led Allerton Bywater to a three-wicket success against Rothwell who were kept at 177-7 by Usman Bashir (3-34).

Simon Booth (70) and Andy Humphreys (66) were Rothwell’s top scorers.

Alex Clemo’s half-century was in vain for Glasshoughton in a 50-run defeat at Hemsworth Miners Welfare.

Whitley Bridge suffered a 218-run trouncing at Barnby Dun. Opener Lewis Longstaff (30) was the only batsman in double figures as Whitley fell for 50, replying to Barnby’s 268-7 that featured 94 by Kieren Dinnage.

There was no play in Featherstone Town’s game at Notton.

Defending Division One champions Fairburn eased to a 102-run victory against Hatfield Town.

Fairburn started badly when they lost Guy Abdy, Craig Piggott and Brian Divine cheaply but they recovered excellently to finish on 237-7 thanks to Jake Abdy (100), Mark Abdy (41no), Danny Murray (33) and Ryan Greatrick (31).

Abdy’s century came off 107 balls and featured two sixes and 15 fours.

Piggott (3-9), Guy Abdy (3-44) and Ken Atkinson (2-23) dismissed Hatfield for 134 as Fairburn stayed just one point behind unbeaten leaders Brook-Walton who defeated Frickley by 19 runs.

Brent Law (51) and Alex Kippax (30) were Streethouse’s best performers in an eight-wicket home defeat against South Kirkby, for whom James Scott hit 71 and Brayden Clark 60 not out.

Old Sharlston’s game at West Bretton was cancelled because the pitch was unfit.

Hundhill Hall’s Division Three promotion hopes were dented by a 13-run home defeat against Bullcroft Main.

Sam Malyan (4-39) and Josh Hurcomb (2-25) restricted Bullcroft Main to 163-9 but Hundhill’s reply fell just short despite the efforts of Reece Johnson (27), Hurcomb (24), Fred Gunthorpe (23), Tom Malyan (21) and Jack Gascoigne (21).

Glasshoughton coasted to a six-wicket win against Sandal in Division Five.

Jake Medley (3-15), Garret Dakin (2-12), Lucas Whipp (2-5) and Dean Medley (2-22) routed Sandal for 72.

Glasshoughton recovered from losing openers Tony Gale and Josh Ward cheaply to knock off the runs in 23 overs, with Dakin finishing unbeaten on 27.

All-rounder Chris Appleyard’s 35 and 3-29 from 14 overs was in vain for Featherstone in a six-wicket home defeat against Normanton.

Fairburn were all out for 130 in a nine-wicket loss at Hatfield Town, despite captain Ian Raynor’s 52 which featured nine boundaries.

Division Four promotion contenders Thorpe Audlin collected only two points when their match at Bentley Colliery was cancelled but leaders Pollington failed to capitalise on Thorpe’s inactivity because they lost at home to Stanley Falcon.

Gareth Webber (43no) and Jack Willis (41) led Ackworth to a five-wicket success against Ryhill and Havercroft.

Paul Lumb (5-38), Gary Allington (27)( and Marc Lumb (23) were Ferrybridge Power Station’s best performers in a 67-run defeat at South Kirkby, for whom Jack Danks snapped up 5-21.