Knotty problem at Rothwell

All-rounder Jamie Robinson was outstanding in Featherstone's win against Hemsworth.
All-rounder Jamie Robinson was outstanding in Featherstone's win against Hemsworth.

Knottingley’s Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Two promotion hopes were dented by a seven-wicket defeat at Rothwell.

Simon Booth (70no) and Matthew Rowett (56) shared a 96-run stand as Rothwell overhauled Knottingley’s 175 that included 38 by Jack Pugh and 35 from skipper Edward Wilson.

All-rounder Jamie Robinson was outstanding in Featherstone’s win against Hemsworth.

Robinson (54), skipper Adam Perry (46) and George Reed-Hill (40) led Featherstone to 220-8.

Jamie Robinson snapped up 4-33 and Perry 4-51 as Hemsworth were toppled for 181.

Sam Millward (40), Carl Dykes (36no) and Idris Khan (6-16) gave Barnby Dun the edge in a low-scoring game at Darton.

Peter Mawdsley and Joel Evans hit half-centuries in Rossington Main’s five-wicket victory against Notton.

Saturday’s other two Division Two matches were ruined by rain.

Allerton Bywater reached 95-6 from 33.1 overs at Stainborough, with Gareth Portman (24) top scoring.

Openers Chris Sherriff (91) and Rob Sperrin (85) shared a 175-run stand in Glasshoughton’s 225-run total against Whitley Bridge who replied with 87-3 from 19 overs.

Hundhill Hall revived their Division Three promotion challenge with a seven-wicket win at Streethouse.

Openers Martin Rhodes (33) and Johnathan Nickerson (29) gave Streethouse’s innings a good start by putting on 66 but they were eventually limited to 122-8 by Simon Jewitt (3-22) and Sam Malyan (3-34).

Simon Leach (34no), Steven Rigby (29) and Jed Wilkinson (26) led the way as Hundhill knocked off the runs in 25 overs, despite Stuart Camm’s 3-67.

Chasing Newton Hill’s 136, Hensall were 18-1 from 5.5 overs when rain ended play.

Division Four title-chasers Thorpe Audlin are just two points behind leaders Pollington after beating Ackworth by 35 runs.

A century by opener Jamie Evans was the highlight of Thorpe’s total of 207-7. Nigel Malyan (5-55 from 14 overs) was Ackworth’s best bowler.

Scott Murray (3-56), James Faulkner (2-43) and Josh Liddle (2-11) kept Ackworth’s reply at 172-7.

Ackworth’s Jack Willis and Kevin Booth each hit 42.

Marc Lumb (58) and Richard Lumb (46no) guided Ferrybridge Power Station to an eight-wicket win against Pledwick who were dismissed for 121 by Jack Hart (4-20), Keith Lumb (2-27) and Paul Lumb (2-14).

Lee Dobson hammered a magnificent 144 in Fairburn’s 97-run victory over Glasshoughton in Division Five.

Richard Holgate chipped in with 56 as Fairburn raced to 302-5.

Mike Hegarty finished unbeaten on 94 and skipper Tony Gale struck 84 as Glasshoughton collected three batting points by replying with 205-2.

Richard Hayes (76no), captain Andrew Lund (49)and Darren Green (5-58) were outstanding in Knottingley’s 22-run win against Barnsley in Division Six.

Sam Hawley (150no) and Josh Smith (104) put on 274 for the second wicket as Darton raced to 302-1 in just 31 overs at Whitley Bridge who were 40-4 from 18.4 overs when the rain rescued them.

In Division Seven East, Josh Liddle smashed three sixes and seven fours in a sparkling c entury as Thorpe Audlin beat Pegler by 79 runs.

Corey Hawksworth snapped up 3-17 and Bailey Jones 2-22 as Pegler were limited to 105-8, replying to Thorpe’s 184-7 that also included 29 by Mark Arbon.

Andrew Adams (36), Adam Briddon (28) and Paul Snowdon (5-24) were Ferrybridge’s match-winners at Sykehouse.

Dan Ferguson (30no) top scored for Hundhill Hall in a nine-wicket loss against Askern.