Pontefract Cricket League: Hundhill Hall spring opening day surprise against Streethouse

Hundhill Hall hit the ground running in the new Pontefract Cricket League season as they surprised one of the Division One title favourites, Streethouse.

Tuesday, 20th April 2021, 4:50 pm
Three wickets: Hundhill Hall's Simon Jewitt.

The newly promoted side won by 98 runs after dismissing Streethouse for 119 in reply to 217.

Asad Bukhari battled to make 40no for Streethouse, while Amjad Ali hit 30 and there were three wickets each for Aamir Siddique and Amjad Hussain, but it was Hall celebrating at the end after fine efforts with the bat from Reece Johnson (70) and Richard Earnshaw (32). Scott Latimer (3-19) and Simon Jewitt (3-29) were the pick of their bowlers.

Elsewhere in Division One there was a good start for Hemsworth MW as they hammered Crofton Phoenix by 173 runs.

Opener Jack Whale led the way with a knock of 70 as Hemsworth chose to bat first and posted a 218 score.

Crofton never looked like getting anywhere near their target as they were all out for 45 with none of their top five batsmen making any runs and Jake Taberner (6-18) and Jack Heritage (4-27) doing the damage.

A knock of 67 from opener Amitpaul Kundra paved the way for an opening day top flight success for Ackworth at West Bretton.

Ackworth batted first and totalled 223 with Kundra supported by Scott Walker (31) and Bailey Matthews (40).

Bretton then fell 85 runs short in their reply, all out for 138 with Dale Longfield taking 4-32 and Luke Townsend 4-49.

Despite 5-31 from Luke Malone, Frickley Colliery went down by 50 runs to Askern Welfare.

Chasing 184, Frickley were all out for 134 with Akash Rawal (25) top scoring.

Kippax made a winning start to their new life in the Pontefract League when they posted a huge total on their way to an 191-run victory over Brodsworth Main in Division Two.

Despite being put in Kippax piled up the runs to make 357-5 in their 46 overs. Opener Museji Bhoola led the way as he blasted 23 fours and a six in a 95-ball knock of 120 while Mahmadsoyeb Gheewala struck 13 fours in his 75 and Altaf Patel hit four sixes and five fours in 54no.

Brodsworth were all out for 166 in reply as Bhoola followed up his batting exploits by taking 6-32. 

Knottingley Town also made a winning start in Division Two as they beat Old Sharlston by five wickets.

Craig Larrington (5-23) and Matthew Stones (3-38) paved the way as Sharlston were kept to 139-9. Town then reached their target comfortably with Tristan Oselton (54no) top scoring.

Despite good bowling from Matthew Daniel (4-59) and Lewis Longstaff (4-42) it was an opening day defeat for Whitley Bridge at Oulton.

Oulton were bowled out for 217, but Bridge fell 104 runs short in their reply with Longstaff (36) top scoring.

Glasshoughton also lost out when they played Garforth Parish Church as they were dismissed for 147 and went on to be beaten by a seven-wicket margin. 

Stuart Dick hit 44 and Noor Sahaq 35, but Glasshoughton’s total proved inadequate.

Featherstone Town were involved in a close Division Three game, but went down by two wickets to Barnby Dun after making 169-9.

Myles Robinson (53) was the leading run contributor with Jason Picken hitting 31. Todd Davis then took 5-45, but Barnby Dun were able to squeeze home.

Despite solid efforts from Liam Revis (31), Phil Wood (29) and David Danks (28), Allerton Bywater went down by four wickets to Fairburn after posting a 140 score in their Division Four match.

Neal Patel (6-39) and James Metcalfe (4-17) bowled Ferrybridge Power Station to a nine-wicket success against Hemsworth MW seconds.

Hemsworth were dismissed for just 83 then Marc Lumb (38no) and Metcalfe (26) brought Ferrybridge home.

Adam Guest contributed 58 and Matthew Tarbuck 46 in an innings of 214-7, but South Kirkby seconds lost by eight wickets to Bullcroft Main.

Syed Hussain (67no) carried Kippax seconds home for a seven-wicket success in their first Division Six game at Hundhill Hall seconds.

Hall were dismissed for 129 with Tom Barton (27) top scoring and Idrish Patel (4-12) and John Henshaw (3-29) leading the Kippax attack.