Whelan steers Ryhill to victory

None of Ferrybridge's first eight batsmen reached double figures.
None of Ferrybridge's first eight batsmen reached double figures.

Skipper Danny Whelan’s unbeaten 60 guided Ryhill and Havercroft to a two-wicket win at Ferrybridge Power Station in Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Four.

Liams Potts (5-30) and Luke Speight (3-33) bowled out Ferrybridge 106.

None of Ferrybridge’s first eight batsmen reached double figures but tail-enders Scott Taylor (24no), Andrew Adams (16) and Charlie Fletcher (9) rescued the innings.

Jack Hart (4-22) and Taylor (2-25) caused Ryhill’s batsmen plenty of problems before Whelan, batting at number eight, saw them home.

South Kirkby lost by three wickets at leaders Pollington.

Openers Gary Mitchell (47) and James Handley (15) were the only batsmen to make an impression as Kirkby were dismissed for 109 by Tony Holmes (4-6) and Moosa Patel (4-30).

Pollington were indebted to Nigel Punton (34) and Mark Punton (33) as they overhauled the target. Adam Guest (2-5) and James Scott (2-21) led the attack.

Jamie Evans (67), Scott Murray (33) and Matthew Faulkner (30) led Thorpe Audlin to 181-5 against Sykehouse who were kept at 60-6 in 43 overs by Murray (2-11) and Rich Caton (2-26).

Soldiers face South Kirkby Social in the John Ward Memorial Cricket Knock-out League at the Old Mill ground tonight (Thursday, 6pm).

Next Monday, South Kirkby Reds play Gold Pot, while Upton Rugby Club take on Nags XI next Wednesday (6pm).