Williamson and Liddle outstanding as Thorpe Audlin scrape through in trophy

Thorpe Audlin beat Nostell by one wicket.
Thorpe Audlin beat Nostell by one wicket.

Thorpe Audlin scraped a one-wicket win against Nostell in the Pontefract and District Cricket League’s Bob Martindale Trophy first round on Sunday.

Todd Williamson (6-10 from eight overs) sent 10-man Nostell collapsing from 59-1 to 94 all out.

Opener Josh Liddle smashed three sixes and five fours in a sparkling 49 off 52 balls but he was the only Thorpe Audlin batsman in double figures as Morgan Whelan (3-14) and Jonah Steele (3-16) made them work extremely hard to overhaul the modest target.

Ferrybridge Power Station bowed out with a 98-run home defeat against Horbury Bridge.

Paul Snowdon (4-47), Frank Wass (2-25) and Adam Briddon (2-42) limited Horbury to 218 which included half centuries by Christopher Andrews and Jack Machin.

Ferrybridge’s reply fell well short when they were all out for 120, despite captain David Shaw’s 36.

David Wilkinson (50no), Viprim Reddy (36) and Andy Gledall (20) guided Normanton to a seven-wicket win at Ryhill and Havercroft who were restricted to 122-9 by Saf Mohammed (2-22) and Stuart Carter (2-17).

Luke Speight (23) and Matthew Hyde (20) led Ryhill’s scoring.

Pegler won a low-scoring match against Denby Grange.

Last man Steve Forster junior top-scored with 16 as Pegler were bowled out for 94.

It proved enough because Steve Forster junior (4-11) and Dale Ashcroft (3-15) toppled 10-man Denby Grange for 75 in 25 overs.

Crigglestone won by two wickets at Netherton.

Kashif Akbar (4-18) and Junaid Yousaf (2-32) gave Netherton’s top order batsmen big problems.

Stuart Griffiths, batting at number nine, rescued Netherton by hitting an unbeaten half century as they finished on 130.

Kevin Townend chipped in with 20.

Griffiths also claimed 5-29 from eight overs but was unable to prevent Crigglestone knocking off the runs.

Idris Ali (24) and Neil Thompson (20) batted well for Crigglestone.

Allerton Bywater and Newton Hill conceded their first round ties against Hundhill Hall and Calder Grove respectively.