Dunn leads run spree as Featherstone march on

Featherstone's James Dunn hammered a century.
Featherstone's James Dunn hammered a century.
Share this article

atherstone maintained their unbeaten record in Pontefract League Division Two with a 143-run win at Hatfield on Saturday.

With West Bretton suffering their first defeat at Hemsworth, Featherstone are now the outright leaders. They are one point clear of Barnby Dun who are also still unbeaten.

James Dunn hammered a magnificent 114 and Ryan Armitage struck 57 as Featherstone piled up 291 against Hatfield whose reply was kept at 148-9 by Dave Hiorns (4-34).

Knottingley and Allerton Bywater eased their relegation worries with excellent away victories.

Nick Kirton struck 33 and Martin Cutts finished unbeaten on 31 as Knottingley overhauled Crofton’s 152-8 that included an unbeaten 64 from Jeyarajah Sivanesarajan.

All-rounder Usman Bashir was outstanding in Allerton’s win at Rothwell.

Bashir (32) and Gareth Portman (28) top scored as Allerton were bowled out for 154 by Mark Bentley (5-38).

Bentley (35) then tried to hold Rothwell’s reply together but he received scant support as they were routed for 106, with Bashir taking 3-22.

James Pearson’s battling 74 was in vain for strugglers Whitley Bridge in a six-wicket defeat at Askern, for whom Nick Bisby hit an unbeaten half century.

Division One pacesetters Ackworth maintained their unbeaten league record by inflicting Fairburn’s first league defeat in Saturday’s top of the table clash.

Craig Piggott (95) and Guy Abdy (38no) guided Fairburn to 183-9.

Dale Longfield (3-47) and Jake Hebdon (2-27) were Ackworth’s main wicket takers.

Openers Joe Seddon (64) and Longfield (33) led Ackworth’s successful reply as they overhauled the target, despite Jake Abdy’s 4-18 and Simon Abdy’s 3-46.

Streethouse’s title hopes were dented by a four-wicket defeat at second-placed South Kirkby.

Scott Bland (16), Lee Ogden (13), Martin Rhodes (13) and Ismail Patel (13) were the only Streethouse batsmen who made any impact as the visitors were skittled for 90.

The damage was done by Max Heritage (3-17), James Scott (3-29), Liam Rollin (3-32) and his father Dave who bagged 1-4 in a five-over spell that featured four maidens.

The Streethouse bowlers looked to take control, but Ash Vickers (40) and Mark Walker (14no) helped guide Kirkby to 93-6.

Streethouse’s Jordan Page picked up 2-18, Scott Bland 1-23, Michael Bates 1-25 and Ismail Patel 1-26.

Old Sharlston snatched a one run win in a nail-biting finish at Hooton Pagnell.

Chasing Sharlston’s 141-9 that included 43 by Dale McMullan, Hooton needed two runs off the last ball to tie the game but they all out for 140 when David Kaye was run out by Tom Craig.

Division Three pacesetters Glasshoughton retained a six-point lead over closest rivals Brook-Walton by trouncing Brodsworth Main by 101 runs.

Alex Clemo (74) guided Glasshoughton to 153 and Andrew Wright (3-11), Jordan Mills (3-7) and Craig Bryant (3-21) toppled Brodsworth for 52.

Mick Tucker’s 62 was in vain for Streethouse 2nds as they fell for 107, replying to Brook-Walton’s 156.

Lee Vigars and Liam Geddis (47) led Brook-Walton’s scoring.

Hundhill Hall were dismnissed for 108 in a three-wicket home defeat against Bentley Colliery.

Jack Gascoigne (28), and Simon Jewitt (3-23) were Hundhill’s best performers.

In Division Four, Ackworth 2nds slipped to a narrow defeat against Garforth.

Garforth were limited to 114-9 but Ackworth’s reply fell just short when they were all out for 98.

Thorpe Audlin and Fairburn 2nds both won in Division Five.

James Doyle hit an unbeaten 119 as Thorpe posted 224 against Rothwell 2nds who were routed for 57 by Matthew Faulkner (4-21).

Fairburn won by five wickets at Pledwick but Featherstone 2nds lost by eight wickets to Thurnscoe 2nds.

In Division Seven, Glasshoughton 2nds comfortably beat their Brodsworth counterparts.

Brodsworth were all out for 101, with Jake Medley bagging 4-17 and Noor Ayaz Sahaq, Elliott Spears and Peter Cockroft each taking two wickets.

In reply Garat Dakin (38no) guided Glasshoughtonhome.

On Sunday, Glasshoughton reached the Bob Martindale Memorial Trophy quarterfinals by beating Sykehouse .

Tony Gale (48), Andy Richards (40) and John Crossley (33) led Glasshoughton to 191-5. Evergreen Cockroft (5 -22) limited Sykehouse’s reply to to 101-9.

Last Saturday’s Pontefract League results:

Division 1: * Fairburn 183-9 (C Piggott 95; D Longfield 3-47), Ackworth 186-8 (J Seddon 64; J Abdy 4-18); Frickley 207-7 (K Hussain 48no), *Fishlake 106 (S Payne 6-34); Old Sharlston 141-9 (D McMullan 43; S Hardaker 4-20), *Hooton Pagnell 140 (A Dyke 39); *Monk Bretton155-9 (C Heptinstall 46; J Rowett 4-58), Nostell 87; Streethouse 90 (L Rollin 3-32, J Scott 3-29, M Heritage 3-17), *South Kirkby 93-6 (A Vickers 40).

Division 2: Whitley Bridge 143 (J Pearson 74; G Williams 4-31), *Askern 144-4 (N Bisby 51no); Sandal 135 (K Hewitt 50; P Decent 5-22), *Barnby Dun 138-4 (K Dinnage 56); *Crofton 152-8 (J Sivanesarajan 64no), Knottingley 153-7 (N Kirton 33, M Cutts 31no; A Ward 3-35); Featherstone 291 (J Dunn 114, R Armitage 57; E Patterson 4-41), *Hatfield 148-9 (K Buxton 50; D Hiorns 4-34); Allerton Bywater 154 (U Bashir 32; M Bentley 5-38), *Rothwell 106 (M Bentley 35; U Bashir 3-22); West Bretton 126, Hemsworth 127-7.

Division 3: Glasshoughton 153 (A Clemo 74), *Brodsworth 52; *Hundhill Hall 108, Bentley 113-7; Darton 166-9, *Kilnhurst 134-9; Brook-Walton 156, Streethouse 107.

Division 4: Garforth 114-9, *Ackworth 98; *Hensall 245-7, Sykehouse 127; *Newton Hill 211-6. Monk Bretton 74.

Division 5: *Featherstone 147, Thurnscoe 152-2; *Fenwick 184-6, Fishlake 117; Bullcroft 163-9, *Old Sharlston 140; *Pledwick 117, Fairburn 118-5; Wombwell 181-8, *Stainborough 137; *Thorpe Audlin 224, Rothwell 57.

Division 6: Hemsworth 137, *Barnsley 135-8; *Darton 163, Crofton 45; Hatfield 70, *Pollington 73-4.

Division 7: *Allerton Bywater 158, Eggborough 159-4; *Bentley 103-9, Hooton Pagnell 77; Brodsworth 101, *Glasshoughton 102-3; *Knottingley 128, Pledwick 133-7; Thorpe Audlin 132-8, *Stanley 59; Ferrybridge 112, *West Bretton 113-3.

Division 8: Notton 117, Nostell 121-4; Normanton 56, *Rossington 57-1; *Ryhill 90, Askern 86.