Fairburn make impressive debut

Ian Jones was in outstanding form for Fairburn in Saturday's win.
Ian Jones was in outstanding form for Fairburn in Saturday's win.

LAST season’s Division Two champions Fairburn made an excellent debut in the top-flight of the Torbeck Pontefract and District Cricket League.

They collected maximum points from Saturday’s 10-wicket win at Featherstone in their opening Division One match.

Fairburn all-rounder Ian Jones, who flew back from South Africa on the morning of the game, was in outstanding form.

He bagged 4-15 from eight overs and Craig Piggott snapped up 3-19 from nine as Featherstone were sent reeling from 34-2 to 95 all out.

Ryan Armitage (31) was Featherstone’s top scorer. Simon Hall (22) and Robin Sykes (10) were the only other batsmen who reached double figures.

Fairburn openers James Clegg and Jones knocked off the runs in 21 overs.

Clegg hit 11 fours in an undefeated 53 off 62 deliveries and Jones finished unbeaten on 33.

Defending Division One champions Ackworth lost by six wickets to Crofton whose match-winner Richard Cooper struck an unbeaten 154.

Ackworth did well to recover from 91-5 to post 224-8.

The highlight of their innings was a sixth wicket partnership of 106 between former Castleford player Chris Welburn (67) and Alistair Cunliffe (31). The other main contributors were David Harris (33) and ex county player Peter Hepworth (28).

Crofton all rounder Cooper claimed 3-27 and then led Crofton’s winning reply with his magnificent knock which included nine sixes and 16 fours.

Streethouse collected nine points from a 56-run victory against Fishlake.

Richard Vigars (55no), Paul Langley (55), Jonathan Hughes (30) and Damien Bowles (25) guided Streethouse to 224-7.

Martin Rhodes snapped up 3-29 as Fishlake’s reply was limited to 168-8 which included 63 from Stuart Coleman and an undefeated 42 by Andy Shelton.

Dale McMullan (43) and Jason Ball (3-22) led Old Sharlston to a five-wicket success against Frickley Colliery, for whom Ben Sutton struck a half century.

Simon Danby (104no) and Simon Old (34) put on 72 as Rothwell recovered from 148-5 to overhaul Nostell’s total of 223-9.

Lee Hurst (80), Mark Rowett (78) and Richard Hardman (38) led newly-promoted Nostell’s scoring.

Adrian Coates (55) and Ian Jackson (39) guided Hooton Pagnell to 179-8 at Upper Haugh who reached 126-5 from 31 overs in reply before the match was abandoned because of bad light following rain.

In Division Two, Whitley Bridge lost by seven wickets to Monk Bretton.

Nick Kirton (55) and Eddie Wilson (45) guided Whitley to 188-7 but it was not enough to deny Monk Bretton.

Openers Chris Speed (39) and Andy Clayton (31) put on 90 for the first wicket before Chris Cotton (54no) and Daniel Ogden (37no) sealed Monk Bretton’s victory with an unbroken fourth wicket partnership. Former Townville player Cotton hit two sixes and nine fours.

Promoted Glasshoughton lost by nine wickets to Stainborough.

Tom Atkinson (79no) and Josh Abson (60no) led the way as Stainborough overhauled Glasshoughton’s total of 151-7.

Jonathan Ding scored a maiden first-team half-century as Allerton Bywater made a winning start in Division Three by beating Hensall by seven wickets.

Superb fielding and excellent bowling by Allerton’s Richard Lamb (4-33) and Steve Taylor (3-48) saw Hensall bowled out for 152. Opener Chris Thornton (28) was their top scorer.

Glasshoughton’s successful reply featured an unbroken 66-run partnership between Ding (52no), who struck nine boundaries, and Tom Greenwood (33no) who hammered three huge sixes.

Ackworth A lost by seven wickets at Sandal.