Fairburn tighten grip on top spot

FAIRBURN'S Craig Piggott sends down a delivery in Saturday's match against Nostell.
FAIRBURN'S Craig Piggott sends down a delivery in Saturday's match against Nostell.

FAIRBURN stretched their lead in Pontefract League Division One to 10 points by crushing lowly Nostell on Saturday.

Tight bowling and fielding restricted Nostell to 102 which Fairburn comfortably overhauled.

Fairburn’s wicket-takers were Arunava Banerjee (3-42), Paul Clark (2-19) and Craig Piggott (2-21). There were also two run outs.

Piggott (36no) and Ryan Greatrick (26) led Fairburn’s successful reply.

The matches involving Fairburn’s titles rivals Streethouse and Ackworth were both abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Former pacesetters Featherstone slipped to their third successive league defeat at Fishlake.

James Robinson top scored with 42 as Featherstone were bowled out for 111.

Peter Butterworth hit 27 as Fishlake knocked off the runs, despite Dave Hiorns’ 4-28.

Old Sharlston are level on points with Featherstone - 15 points adrift of Fairburn - after beating Crofton by 66 runs.

Simon Ward (47), Ryan Kelsall (40), Wayne Walker (34) and Dale McMullan (32) top scored as Sharlston posted 180-7.

David Grfiffiths claimed 5-22 as Crofton were routed for 114 in reply.

All-rounder Tracy Shepherd was Crofton’s best perormer with 35 and 3-40.

Saturday’s closest finish in Division One was at Monk Bretton who beat Stainborough by two wickets thanks to Richard Hazlehurst’s winning single off the final ball.

South Kirkby trounced Hooton Pagnell by 143 runs in the Division Two top of the table clash.

Kirkby’s total of 250-5 featured a 130-run partnership between Danny Bowering (90) and James Scott (58no).

Chris Beaumont snapped up 4-27 and Dave Rollin (3-31) grabbed a hat trick as Hooton were skittled for 107 in reply.

Leaders Kirkby are 10 points clear of Hooton, with Sprotbrough a further seven points adrift in third place.

Hemsworth climbed to fifth place with Saturday’s 14-run at Sprotbrough.

Bottom team Whitley Bridge lost by five wickets to Wombwell Main.

Whitley were soon in trouble at 22-3 before Matthew Daniel (43) and Adrian Parker (15) led a mini-revival by putting on 40 for the fourth wicket.

However, Whitley then suffered another collapse and were all out for 99 after losing their last seven wickets for just 37 runs.

Julian Peace (2-16) and Daniel (2-26) reduced Wombwell’s reply to 10-3 but opener Matthew Tonks (49) steadied the ship and they overhauled their target in 24 overs.

Division Three pacesetters Knottingley stretched their lead to 14 points with a five-wicket success at Hensall.

Steve Mowbray (4-26) limited Hensall to 193-8 after Chris Thornton (89) and Ian Calvert (6t6) shared an opening 154-run stand.

Knottingley’s reply started badly when they lost their first three wickets for just 28 runs but they were rescued by Nick Kirton and Martin Cutts who shared a match-winning 128-run partnership.

Kirton hammered 80 before he was run out and Cutts struck 48.

Second-placed Thorne Colliery lost by five wickets at Streethouse A.

Steve Battye (5-37) toppled Thorne for 117 and Jonathan Holmes hit 59 and Jonathan Nickerson 31 as Streethouse knocked off the runs.

Ackworth A lost by 31 runs to Darton.

Andrew Wood struck an unbeaten century as Darton posted 216-6, despite Keith Best’s 4-33.

Chris O’Grady (59) and Dale Longfield (45) led Ackworth’s spirited reply which fell short when they finished on 185-8.

Hundhill Hall are the new Division Four leaders after winning at Bentley Colliery who earned praise for getting the match started after a one-hour delay because of rain.

Simon Jewitt snapped up 4-13 from nine overs and Sam Malyan 3-12 from six as Bentley were routed for 50.

in reply, openers Peter Ferguson (22) and Steven Rigby (17) shared a 34-run stand to put Hundhill well on their way to an eight-wicket victory.

Featherstone A are up with the pacesetters in Division Five after a battling home win against Thurnscoe A.

Featherstone posted 187-7 after Picken and Smith put on 91 for the first wicket.

Skipper Picken hit two sixes and four fours in a sparkling 60 and Smith struck 49. Hardaker chipped in with 40.

Thurnscoe’s reply fell narrowly short when they finished on 184-8.

Featherstone’s Gayley conceded only 24 runs in his 14 overs and Steve Wood picked up three vital wickets to swing the game the home side’s way.

Thorpe Audlin piled up 218-7 against Sprotbrough A who were bowled out for 102 in reply.

Hundhill Hall A, Hensall A and Fairburn A all lost in Division Six.

Hensall were skittled for 31 in a 177-run defeat against Hatfield A and Hundhill managed only 42 as they went down by 160 runs against Stanley Falcons.

Opener Darren Tomlinson smashed two sixes and 21 fours in an unbeaten 144 as Stanley totalled 202-6.

Gary Green (2-31) was Hundhill’s most successful bowler.

None of Hundhill’s batsmen reached double figures as they were routed by Chris Render (4-24), Tallat Mahmood (3-2) and Thomas Render (2-12).

Fairburn A’s total of 128-6 was not enough against Wombwell A who won by four wickets.

Ferrybridge Power Station A suffered a heavy defeat against at Hemsworth A in Division Seven.

Kevin Locke (97), Kieran Locke (75no) and Lee Sykes (50no) steered Hemsworth to 231-1.

In reply, Ferrybridge were dismissed for 125, despite John Goddard’s battling 29.