Featherstone bag first win of season

NOSTELL'S Richard Hardman is bowled by Featherstone's Danny Robinson in Saturday's Pontefract League game (W5063C118.
NOSTELL'S Richard Hardman is bowled by Featherstone's Danny Robinson in Saturday's Pontefract League game (W5063C118.

FEATHERSTONE bounced back from their opening day defeat against Fairburn to achieve their first win in Torbeck Pontefract and District Cricket League Division One by beating Nostell.

James Dunn (76no) and Adam Perry (41no) shared an unbroken third-wicket stand of 128 as Featherstone overhauled Nostell’s 141.

Fairburn slipped to their first defeat against Frickley Colliery.

Callum Honeyman (56) and Matthew Charlton (53) gave Frickley an excellent start before they collapsed from 111-1 to 121-5.

Frickley’s taill enders then added valuable runs which eventually proved crucial as they closed on 194-9.

Fairburn’s Jake Abdy and Paul Clark each claimed three wickets.

Captain Mark Abdy held Fairburn’s reply together with an unbeaten 88 but his efforts were in vain becausev he ran out of partners as they were bowled out for 180.

Champions Ackworth achieved their first victory at Hooton Pagnell.

Chris O’Grady (43), David Harris (38) and Peter Hepworth (35) guided Ackworth to 184-9.

Dean Matthews (3-29 from 11 overs) and Hepworth (2-35 from nine) limited Hooton’s reply to 129-8.

Streethouse, aiming to lift the Division One title for the 10th time in 13 seasons, continued their unbeaten start with a two-wicket win against Old Sharlston.

Jason Ball (52) and Ryan Kelsall (31) steered Sharlston to 198-9. Richard Vigars (3-38) was Streethouse’s best bowler.

Ismail Patel (49no), Jonathan Hughes (41) and Mark Robinson (35) led the way as Streethouse knocked off the runs, despite Ball’s 3-41.

Promoted Glasshoughton are still looking for their first win in Division Two.

Liam Hopton’s century guided them to 212-6 at Hatfield Town but it wasn’t enough to deny the home side, who achieved a two-wicket win thanks to Andy Cutts (86) and Karl Buxton (51).

Glasshoughton’s Garett Dakin had figures of 5-65.

Whitley Bridge slumped to their second defeat when they lost by 84 runs at South Kirkby who had all-rounder James Scott (111no and 5-24) in top form as they maintained their 100 per cent record.

Eddie Wilson top scored with 47 as Whitley were bowled out for 152, chasing Kirkby’s 236-4.

In Division Three, Ackworth A were indebted to Alex Clemo (74), Mike Hegarty (56) and Keith Best (5-38) as they beat Allerton Bywater by 50 runs.

Chris Thornton’s century was the highlight of Hensall’s eight-wicket success at Frickley Colliery A.

Streethouse A won by seven wickets at Hundhill Hall in Division Four.

Ben Dunn-Birch (42), Richard Earnshaw (26), Simon Jewitt (26) and Martin Farmery (24) top-scored as Hundhill were bowled out for 153.

Streethouse’s Liam Geddis claimed 5-16 from nine overs. Openers Craig Tennant (90no) and Jason Holmes (46) shared a 118-run partnership as Streethouse knocked off the runs.

Knottingley made it two win from two games with a 24-run success against South Kirkby A.

Andy Bedford struck six fours and one six in a sparkling 56 as Knottingley posted 225-6. Lee White (44) and Ian Brown (40) were the other main contributors.

In reply, South Kirkby recovered from 67-6 to close on 201-9 thanks to Dylan Moran’s 70.

Stephen Mowbray (4-39) was Knottingley’s most successful bowler.

In Division Five, opener Mick Smith’s unbeaten 71 was not enough to give Featherstone A the edge against Pledwick.

Simon Grace hit one six and 12 fours in an excellent 62 as Ferrybridge Power Station overhauled Whitley Bridge second team’s 142-8.

Thorpe Audlin A collected maximum points at Rothwell A in Division Six.

Jamie Gaskell (56) and Jamie Evans (34) guided Thorpe to 153.

Gaskell bagged 3-16 as Rothwell were toppled for 86 in reply.

Fairburn A made a winning start to their Division Seven campaign at Pledwick A.

Gareth Weaver (70) and Rhys Weaver (41) put on 88 as Fairburn posted 201-9.

Darren Weaver (5-11) and Robbie Bancroft (3-13) sent Pledwick’s reply collapsing to 83 all out.

An unbeaten maiden century from 18-year-old Gary Mapplebeck gave Glasshoughton some comfort from a heavy defeat against Wakefield Thornes.

Thornes piled up 363-4 and Glasshoughton managed only 191-8 in reply, despite Mapplebeck’s excellent knock.

In Division Eight, Thorpe Audlin A lost by 58 runs to Garforth A despite fine bowling from juniors Ben Liddle (3-14) and Joe Ramsbottom (3-24) and good batting by Peter Liddle (29), Ramsbottom (25) and Alan Elkin (24).

Andy Adams bagged 6-14 in a sizzling 13-over spell that included nine maidens as Ferrybridge Power Station second team beat their Ryhill counterparts by 48 runs.