Featherstone set sights on swift return to top-flight

James Dunn hit 66 in Featherstone's win against Rothwell in Division Two. Picture: Mark Bickerdike.
James Dunn hit 66 in Featherstone's win against Rothwell in Division Two. Picture: Mark Bickerdike.
Share this article

Featherstone are aiming to make a swift return to the Pontefract and District League’s top-flight after finishing at the foot of Division One last season.

They maintained their 100 per cent record in Division Two with Saturday’s 55-run run victory at Rothwell who were relegated with them last season.

James Dunn hit 66 and Ryan Armitage 52 as Featherstone posted 236-7.

In reply, Rothwell were bowled out for 181 by Adam Perry (4-37) and Dave Hiorns (4-40).

Featherstone are level on points at the top with Barnby Dun and West Bretton who have also collected maximum points from their first two matches.

Chasing Barnby Dun’s 219-9, Whitley Bridge were routed for 69 by Adam Wilkinson (4-21) and Mark Nurse (3-13).

Chris Degnan’s 5-31 gave promoted West Bretton the edge in a low-scoring game against Crofton.

Knottingley bounced back from an opening day defeat at Rothwell by winning a high-scoring game against Hemsworth.

Openers Kevan Locke (56) and Steve Biddulph (47) guided Hemsworth to 223-6.

Knottingley knocked off the runs in great style thanks to an unbroken 147-run stand between Nicky Kirton (120no) and Martin Cutts (35no).

Kirton hammered three sixes and 15 fours as Knottingley overhauled the target with more than two overs to spare.

South Kirkby are the Division One pacesetters after maintaining their perfect record with a seven-wicket win at Frickley Colliery who were skittled for 77 by Dave Rollin (4-15) and his son Liam (4-35).

Kirkby are two points clear of Ackworth who achieved their second win by beating promoted Wombwell.

Chris Welburn bagged 6-39 as Wombwell were dismissed for 152 which included a half-century by Joe Ashurst.

David Harris (36) and Joe Seddon (33) led Ackworth’s reply which slipped into troubler after Chris Wathen had to retire because of a facial injury.

Ackworth slumped to 142-9 before Wathen defied his injury and returned to the crease to join last man Craig Walker.

Wathen struck a six to level the scores and Walker then hit a winning two to earn Ackworth a dramatic one-wicket win.

Streethouse achieved their first victory this season by crushing Monk Bretton who were toppled for 69 by Martin Rhodes (4-10) and Ismail Patel (3-14).

Former Monk Bretton batsman Lee Ogden (42) led the way as Streethouse coasted to a nine-wicket success.

Champions Old Sharlston got off the mark with an eight-wicket win against Fishlake who were routed for 61 by Rob Simpson (4-12) and Steve Roberts (3-17).

In Division Three, Glasshoughton slipped to a last ball one-wicket defeat against Thurnscoe.

Rob Sperrin (52) and Stuart Adamson (42) top scored as Glasshoughton posted 199-8.

Richard Caunce (5-57) gave Thurnscoe’s batsmen plenty of problems but they scraped victory when Ashley Cresswell hit a winning two off the final delivery.

Hundhill Hall are still looking for their first win after losing by two wickets to newly-formed Brook-Walton.

Reece Johnson (4-37) and Sam Malyan (2-21) restricted Brook-Walton to 96-8 but Hundhill’s reply collapsed from 16-0 to 61 all out. Kevin Watson (7-16) and Richard Vigars (3-21) did the damage.

Streethouse 2nds beat Yorkshire Main by eight wickets.

Michael Tucker (4-17), Craig Tennant (2-34), Stuart Camm (2-36) and Conor Glavin (2-38) bowled out Main for 128. Openers Jonathan Nickerson (44) and Dylan Bowles (41) ensured Streethouse had little difficulty knocking off the runs.

In Division Five, Neil Carr (5-34) set up Thorpe Audlin’s two wicket win at Bullcroft.

Featherstone 2nds were routed for 48 in a six-wicket defeat against their Rothwell counterparts.

Hundhill Hall 2nds lost by 188 runs to Wakefield Thornes 3rds in Division S ix.

Saqlain Shahzad hammered 192 and claimed 4-24 for Thornes.

Whitley Bridge 2nds lost at Barnby Dun 2nds when they managed only 61, replying to the home side’s 138-8.

Jake Punton’s 5-32 was in vain for Whitley.

In Division Six, Adrian Swales struck 52 for Knottingley 2nds in a 36-run win at Ferrybridge 2nds.

Allerton Bywater 2nds slipped to a five-wicket defeat at Hooton Pagnell 2nds.

Josh Liddle snapped up 4-8 as Glasshoughton 2nds were toppled for 65, replying to the target of 142-6 set by Thorpe Audlin 2nds.

Last Saturday’s results were:

Division 1: * Wombwell Main 152 (J Ashurst 51; C Welburn 6-39), *Ackworth 153-9 (D Harris 36, J Seddon 33); *Frickley 77 (D Rollin 4-15, L Rollin 4-35), South Kirkby 79-3; *Monk Bretton 69, Streethouse 73-1 (L Ogden 43); Fishlake 61 (R Simpson 4-12, S Roberts 3-17), Old Sharlston 62-2 (T Craig 38). No play: Nostell v Hooton Pagnell, Stainborough v Fairburn.

Division 2: *Allerton Bywater 72 (D Longley 4-16), Askern 73-3; Hemsworth 223-6 (K Locke 56, S Biddulph 47), *Knottingley 227-4 (N Kirton 120no, M Cutts 35no); Featherstone 236-7 (J Dunn 66, R Armitage 52; T Steel 3-39), *Rothwell 181 (A Humphries 75; A Perry 4-37, D Hiorns 4-40); *West Bretton 120 (J Winwood 43; A Ward 3-46, T Shepherd 3-10), Crofton 109 (C Degnan 5-31); Barnby Dun 219-9 (P Decent 82, D Barrett 60), *Whitley Bridge 69 (A Wilkinson 4-21, M Nurse 3-13). No play: Sandal v Hatfield.

Division 3: *Bentley 101 (C Richardson 7-20), Brodsworth 102-4 (J Bell 40); *Brook-Walton 96-8 (R Johnson 4-37), Hundhill Hall 61 (K Watson 7-16); *Glasshoughton 199-8 (R Sperrin 52, S Adamson 42; G Bright 4-4), Thurnscoe 200-9 (R Caunce 5-57); Yorkshire Main 128 (M Tucker 4-16), *Streethouse 130-2 (J Nickerson 44, D Bowles 41).

Division 4: Monk Bretton 131-9 (S Iredale 55), *Notton 88 (C Deakin 5-35); *South Kirkby 149-7, Frickley 55.

Division 5: *Bullcroft 122 (N Carr 5-34), Thorpe Audlin 123-8; *Featherstone 48 (J Bradley 5-4), Rothwell 49-4.

Division 6: *Barnby Dun 138-8 (J Punton 5-32), Whitley Bridge 61; *Hemsworth 82 (W Smith 4-5), Darton 38 (J Whale 4-13); *Pollington 122 (T Holmes 53), Stanley 55 (R Ellam 5-13); Wakefield Thornes 288-7 (S Shahzad 192), *Hundhill Hall 100 (S Shahzad 4-24).

Division 7: Bentley 118-5, *Brodsworth 69 (T Smith 7-8); Knottingley 160-6 (A Swales 52), *Ferrybridge 124-9; Allerton 96-9, *Hooton Pagnell 100-5; *Pledwick 59 (G Sharp 5-18), West Bretton 60-0; Eggborough 172-7 (S Tyson 92), *Stanley 81-9 (J Green 7-35); *Thorpe Audlin 142-6, Glasshoughton 65 (J Liddle 4-8).

Division 8: *Hensall 87-6, Ryhill 88-4.