White Swan double up with final victory

White Swan.
White Swan.

White Swan capped their fine season by making it a double in the Selby League when they beat Abbey Vaults 5-0 in the James Sly Trophy final.

The league champions were in top form in a final played at Kellingley Welfare’s ground.

Top scorer Brett Smith set them on the way with the opening goal in the first half.

Vaults stayed in the contest after the break until two quick goals took the final away from them round the 70 minute mark when Lloyd Wagstaff and James Earley were on target.

Further goals by Regan Fish and Brett Smith completed Swan’s victory while Vaults had only one real chance.

The well deserved man of the match trophy went to White Swan’s Regan Fish.

Match officials were referee Richard Tindall, assistants Michael Siddall and Garry Lewis and fourth referee Phil Sutton.

After the handing out of the James Sly medals and cup, a further presentation was made by Selby League secretary Wendy Webster of a new trophy for this season – the Webster Golden Boot for the league’s top scorer. It was won by Thomas Lazenby, who scored 37 goals over the season.

The James Sly Trophy finalists were decided after the last group game when Bird in Hand missed out after losing 3-2 to Pontefract Town.

Bird had to win by six goals to progress ahead of White Swan, but never looked likely to get their desired result as Pontefract played well despite not having anything to play for.

Two goals by Jonathan Bradley and one from Nathan Perks gave Town the lead, although Bird in Hand did manage to claw two back through Ryan Barrow.

Dave Horner won the Tommy Dixon award as the league’s referee of the year.

The Selby League’s AGM takes place on Wednesday, June 15 at Selby Railway Club, starting 8pm.