Glasshoughton manager moves on

Craig Elliott.
Craig Elliott.

GLASSHOUGHTON Welfare are looking for a new first team manager after the man who led them to promotion from Division One of the Baris NCE Division One resigned to take up a new post with a West Yorkshire club in a higher league.

Craig Elliott’s achievement in the season just finished did not go unnoticed as he was offered and has accepted the manager’s post at Evo Stick League outfit Ossett Town for the 2012-13 season.

The switch came as a surprise to Welfare after their presentation evening at the weekend and they called an emergency meeting of the football committee for Tuesday night to discuss the issue.

The club has now issued a statement in which they said: “Glasshoughton would like to put on record its thanks to Craig, and his backroom staff, for their input in turning the club round in only two short seasons, and wish him all the very best in his new venture.”

Welfare are now advertising the post at Leeds Road and any would be applicants are asked to contact chairman Phil Riding on no later than Wednesday, May 30, submitting a cv or relevant experience and/or qualifications.

Glasshoughton Welfare held their presentation evening to mark a successful season when the senior side earned promotion to the top division of the Baris NCE League.

Karl Blackburn, a representative of the Baris N C East League, attended the event at Glasshoughton WMC and presented the Division One runners-up trophy along with suitable mementos to the first team Squad.

Club awards were handed out to:

First team – Players’ player of the year: Liam Radford, presentation by sponsor David Dein, of Manhiem Motors.

Managers’ player of the year: Alex Booth, presentation by sponsor Bill Douglas. of Oakworth Consultancy.

Committee player of the year: Andy Seed, presentation by sponsor Steven Lloyd, of GSKP.

Man of Match awards: Paul Sykes and Andy Seed, presented by sponsor Nigel Walker, of Electrical & Mechanical Fire Services Ltd (EMFS).

West Yorkshire League (WYL) team – Managers player of the year: Kyle Sambrook.

Players’ player of the year: Reece Chappell.

Committee player of the year: Kyle Sambrook.

Life Time Achievement Award: Presented to former player Mick Jacobson by former playing colleague John Carter.