Hepworth in top form for leaders Ackworth

Ackworth captain Peter Hepworth claimed 5-42 and hammered 113 against Monk Bretton..
Ackworth captain Peter Hepworth claimed 5-42 and hammered 113 against Monk Bretton..

Former Leicestershire county all rounder Peter Hepworth showed his class as Ackworth retained top spot in Torbeck Pontefract League Division One.

Skipper Hepworth hit 113 and bagged 5-42 in an 85-run win at Monk Bretton that put Ackworth four points clear of Streethouse and Old Sharlston with two matches remaining.

Hepworth and Dale Longfield (40no) steered Ackworth to 293-8 and Monk Bretton were bowled out for 208 in reply.

Fairburn’s hopes of retaining the title faded with a four-wicket home defeat against Streethouse that left them 11 points adrift of Ackworth.

Gary Rhodes (75no) guided Streethouse to victory after Steve Honeyman (6-32) limited Fairburn to 139-9.

Sharlston maintained their bid to lift the championship for the first time by beating South Kirkby by 38 runs.

David Griffiths (62) led Sharlston to 153-8, despite 15-year-old Max Heritage’s 5-39.

Kirkby managed only 115-9 in reply.

Featherstone’s relegation worries increased when they slipped to second bottom after being routed for 95 in a five-wicket home defeat against Frickley Colliery who boosted their survival chances.

John Lumb (57), Mark Bentley (4-41) and Chris St Clair-Whicker (2-33) were bottom side Rothwell’s best performers in a 31-run defeat at Fishlake.

Alywn Dyke (5-41) and Josh John (4-30) set up Hooton Pagnell’s six-wicket success against Stainborough.

Nostell retained top spot in Division Two with a 55-run victory over Whitley Bridge.

Matt Draper (3-33) and Will Thorne (3-42) restricted Nostell to 174-9 which included 43 from Nick Oram.

Whitley’s reply started disastrously when they lost three wickets with just three runs on the board.

Nathaniel Reeson (33), Tony Holmes (27) and Tom Wright (20) led a fightback but it wasn’t enough because another collapse saw Whitley slump from 86-4 to 119 all out.

Nostell are two points clear of Wombwell who beat Hemsworth by 30 runs thanks to Kevin Linney (64), Ross Thornton (55) and Chris Bond (5-36).

Luke Hindmarsh (56) and Craig Webster (55) were Hemsworth’s top scorers.

Third-placed Sandal’s hopes of winning promotion for a second successive season faded when they lost by 64 runs to Askern.

Bottom side Thurnscoe’s relegation was confirmed with an 86-run defeat against Knottingley.

Nick Kirton (70) guided Knottingley to 222-9 and Thurnscoe were dismissed for 136, despite Don Whitehurst’s 69.

In Division Six, Whitley Bridge 2nds lost by 60 runs to promotion-chasers Fenwick.

Steven Vickerage struck two sixes and 13 fours in an unbeaten century as Fenwick piled up 231-7.

Whitley’s Martin Hudson and Grant McLean each claimed two wickets.

In reply, Whitley were bowled out for 171. Their top scorers were Andy Brown (40), McLean (31), Jacob Bury ( 22) and Gareth Jones (21).

Glasshoughton 2nds defeated depleted Thorpe Audlin 2nds in Division Seven.

Andy Richards hit a sparkling 73 and Mick Hegarty 50 as Glasshoughton posted 200-6. In reply, spinners Peter Cockroft (4-13) and Elliott Spears (4-26) routed Thorpe for 82 in under 26 overs.

David Shaw (47), Paul Hart (34), Jason Lumb (25), Holly Westmoreland (4-17), Atif Basharat (3-47) and James Metcalfe (2-38) were the best performers for Ferrybridge 2nds in a 111-run defeat against Hooton Pagnell 2nds.