History makers Methley are crowned CYL champions

Methley players celebrate winning the Central Yorkshire League Premier Division. Picture: Steve Riding
Methley players celebrate winning the Central Yorkshire League Premier Division. Picture: Steve Riding

Methley defied the wet weather around on Saturday as they won their final match of the season to go down in history as the last Premiership champions in the Central Yorkshire League.

Needing at least four points from their game against Birstall to finish ahead of Wakefield Thornes, they were pleased to be able to get going after heavy rain all morning meant a delayed start and quickly took charge of a contest reduced to 42 overs a side.

Methley batted first and set about the task of building a big score with Richard Foster and Marcus Walmsley putting on 157 for the first wicket before Foster’s 71-ball knock of 76 was ended after he had hit five sixes and seven fours.

Marcus Walmsley went on to reach his century and hit 104 not out, including 12 fours and a six while twin brother Ed also weighed in with an unbeaten 34 off 24 balls, helping Methley to declare on 231-1 after 34 overs.

That gave them an extra eight overs to bowl Birstall out and they needed them.

With Wakefield Thornes having already won their game against Hunslet Nelson, the pressure was on, but Methley made a good start in reducing their opponents to 58-5 and only needed to take nine wickets due to a Birstall player getting an injury while fielding .

Australian Robert Pearl (38) and captain Craig Wood (31) provided some middle order resistance, but the Methley attack kept plugging away and with light fading they finally polished off the visitors as they were all out for 128 in the 49th over.

Mustafa Bashir took 3-23, Marcus Walmsley 2-27, Josh Sullivan 2-27 and Ed Walmsley 1-23 with the last wicket going down at 7.20pm.

Methley players were then able to celebrate being the final CYL champions before the start of the merger with the Bradford League and they had repeated their feat of last year in completing the double, having also won the Jack Hampshire Trophy.

Townville finished in third place after picking up a four-point win in their last game of the season against Wrenthorpe.

The game started two hours late and was reduced to 30 overs a side with Wrenthorpe going in first and posting a 160-8 total.

James Glynn (62) and Neil Bourke (42) were the top scorers while Jack Hughes finished the season with another good haul of 4-39 for Townville and Chris Holliday took 2-3.

Townville made a good start to their reply through Kris Ward (31) and Jonny Booth (33), but were wobbling a little at 78-4 before an unbeaten stand of 88 involving Nick Bresnan (51 not out) and Conor Harvey (36 not out) brought the side home for a six-wicket success.

Holliday had the chance to finish as the league’s top scorer, but was unable to get the 30 he needed to edge out Wrenthorpe’s South African Darryl Hendricks – being out for a rare duck . His prolific season has seen him pass the 1,000 run milestone, however, scoring 1034 at an average of 73.86.

Division One champions Great Preston had their final game against Adwalton abandoned after they had reached 75-1 with Matty King not out on 37 and Adrian Sharp hitting 26.

Final placings:

Premier: Methley 102 points, Wakefield Thornes 99, Townville 94, Wrenthorpe 82, Ossett 65, Batley 56, Mirfield PC 50, Hunslet Nelson 41, Carlton 41, Birstall 40, Altofts 26, Buttershaw SP 18.

Division One: Great Preston 80 points, East Leeds 69, Adwalton 52, Gildersome 50, Mirfield 40, Rodley 31, Crossbank Methodists 25.

Second Team Premier: Ossett A 107 points, Wakefield Thornes A 100, Batley A 92, Methley A 71, Wrenthorpe A 61, Carlton A 58, Wakefield SM A 50, East Ardsley A 47, Birstall A 47, Altofts A 32, Mirfield PC A 31, Buttershaw SP A 30.

Second Team Championship: Azaad A 82 points, Hopton Mills A 69, Oulton A 53, Townville A 43, Northowram Fields A 41, Liversedge A 38, Hunslet Nelson A 38.

Second Team Division One: Great Preston A 89 points, East Leeds A 82, Adwalton A 62, Gildersome A 61, Caribbean A 56, Rodley A 50, Mirfield A 44, Crossbank Methodists A 21.