Leaders Ackworth slip to first league defeat

All-rounder Ismail Patel was in outstanding form in Streethouse's win at Fishlake. Picture: Steve Riding.
All-rounder Ismail Patel was in outstanding form in Streethouse's win at Fishlake. Picture: Steve Riding.

Ackworth’s lead in Pontefract Cricket League Division One was reduced to seven points when they slipped to their first league defeat of the season at championship rivals South Kirkby.

Fairburn and Streethouse stepped up their title challenges by collecting maximum points against Nostell and Fishlake respectively.

Jake Rimmington (48), Steve Secker (47) and Jack Birkby (46no) led South Kirkby to 191-9.

Chris Wathen (3-29), Dale Longfield (2-29), Dean Matthews (2-57) and skipper Peter Hepworth (1-13) were Ackworth’s wicket-takers.

Despite an excellent 70 by in-form opener Longfield, Ackworth’s reply fell short when they were bowled out for 172 by Brayden Clark (3-45), Max Heritage (3-51), Dave Rollin (2-31) and his son Liam (2-31).

Second-placed Fairburn cut the gap at the top by beating Nostell.

Lee Hurst (53) was the only Nostell batsman who made an impact as they were toppled for 113 by Craig Piggott (4-5), Simon Abdy (3-13) and Guy Abdy (2-31).

Fairburn’s reply started badly when they lost openers Guy Abdy and Ryan Greatrick cheaply and they were still in trouble at 66-5 but Danny Murray (42no) and Jake Abdy (10no) saw them safely home with an unbroken 48-run stand.

All-rounder Ismail Patel was in top form as Streethouse eased to a 103-run win at Fishlake in a rehearsal for this Sunday’s Dyson-Skidmore Trophy qauarterfinal at Pinfold Lane.

Patel (58) top-scored as Streethouse posted 208-8 and then snapped up 6-27 to send Fishlake’s reply collapsing to 105 all out.

Sunday’s other Dyson-Skidmore Trophy ties are Fairburn v Hemsworth, West Bretton v Sandal and South Kirkby v Wombwell Main.

Defending Division One champions Old Sharlston suffered their fifth league defeat of the season at Wombwell Main.

Dale McMullan (3-29 from 14 overs, Jason Ball (2-36 from 14) and Mark Reeves (2-23 from 4) limited Wombwell to 166-8 but Sharlston’s reply never got going.

Their first three batsmen - Tom Craig, Mark Reeves and Adam Fox - were soon back in the pavilion and although Steve Roberts (53no), skipper McMullan (21) and Simon Ward (19) led a fightback it wasn’t quite enough as they fell for 135.

Division Two title contenders Featherstone bounced back from the previous week’s home defeat against Askern with a crucial two-wicket victory at promotion rivals Barnby Dun.

Batting first, Barnby were kept at 185-9 by Jamie Robinson (4-32 from 14 overs), Ian Tennant (3-62 from 14) and Danny Robinson (2-36 from 11).

In reply, Featherstone quickly lost opener Ryan Armitage but good work by James Dunn (52), Khalid Dar (40), Adam Perry (33no) and tail-ender Danny Robinson (21no) saw them overhaul the target in 37.5 overs.

Featherstone are just one point behind leaders Askern who beat Sandal.

Knottingley, who are third bottom in the table, lost by 73 runs at Hatfield.

Karl Buxton (73), Mathew Cockborn (40), James Stewart (40) and Chris Stothard (33) led Hatfield to a formidable 256-6.

Nicky Kirton (48), Edward Wilson (36) and number 10 batsman Craig Larrington (30no) led Knottingley’s reply which finished on 183-9.

Allerton Bywater’s game at Crofton was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Hemsworth achieved an eight-victory over winless bottom team Whitley Bridge who were routed for 95 by James Gorton (4-37) and Jack Heritage (4-25).

Glasshoughton retained a five-point lead over Brook-Walton in Division Three with a 13-run victory at Hundhill Hall.

Sam Malyan (4-37 from 14 overs), Simon Jewitt (2-26 from 5.1) and Steve Simpson (2-39 from 11) bowled out Glasshoughton for 158, which included 66 by opener Rob Sperrin and 41 from Elliott Spears.

Hundhill’s reply slumped to 38-5 and although Jewitt (32) and Josh Gill (27) then put on 53 for the sixth wicket the East Hardwick team were eventually all out for 145.

Glasshoughton’s Jordan Mills and Craig Bryant each claimed three wickets and Alex Clemo collected two.

Streethouse 2nds lost by five wickets to Rossington.

Siddick Mulla (40) and skipper Mick Tucker (35) steered Streethouse to 175 but Rossington knocked off the runs, despite Craig Tennant’s 5-41 from 12 overs.

In Division Four, South Kirkby 2nds won a high-scoring game at Ackworth 2nds who finished on 216-8, replying to the visitors’ total of 267-6.

There was no play in Ferrybridge’s match against Ryhill.

The Division Five match between Thorpe Audlin and Fairburn 2nds was also abandoned because of a waterlogged pitch.

Chris Appleyard (4-37) was the best bowler for Featherstone 2nds in a 69-run home defeat against Wombwell 2nds.

In Division Six, Peter Ferguson’s 91 was not to enough to give Hundhill Hall 2nds the edge in a 20-run defeat at Sandal 2nds and Grant McLean’s 5-51 was in vain for Whitley Bridge 2nds as they lost by 83 runs to Stanley Falcons.

Glasshoughton 2nds achieved an unlikely looking win over Hooton Pagnell 2nds in Division Seven, thanks to a superb seventh wicket partnership between promising 17 year olds Andy Richards (80no) and Danny Weaver 42 (no).

An ordinary effort in the field saw Hooton Pagnell rack up an imposing 231-7, with only Luke Jacques (3-14) impressing for Glasshoughton.

In reply, the Castleford side struggled to 119-6, with debutant Sam Dyson hitting 42, before guitarist Richards hit the right notes with his sparkling effort, well supported by Weaver. Glasshoughton are now just one point behind new leaders Bentley 2nds.

There was no play in the Knottingley-Thorpe Audlin and Stanley-Ferrybridge second team matches.

Allerton Bywater 2nds beat Pledwick 2nds by five wickets after bowling them out for 114.

Saturday’s Pontefract League results:

Division 1: Nostell 113 (L Hurst 53; C Piggott 4-5), *Fairburn 114-5 (D Murray 42no); Streethouse 208-8 (I Patel 58; S Mason 4-45), *Fishlake 105 (J Mason 41; I Patel 6-27); Frickley 123-7 (I Hayre 45; S Hardaker 3-33), *Hooton Pagnell 127-1 (M Grace 46, A Dyke 45); *South Kirkby191-8 (J Rimmington 48, S Secker 47, J Birkby 46no; C Wathen 3-29), Ackworth 172 (D Longfield 70; M Heritage 3-51, B Clark 3-45); *Wombwell 166-8 (D Harper 46, M Tonks 37; D McMullan 3-39), Old Sharlston 135 (S Roberts 53no; R Jones 4-37, T Goldsby-West 3-31).

Division 2: *Askern 147 (C Deere 36, A Lunn 31; S Noden 5-50), Sandal 119-8 (M Westwood 41, D Riley 39; J Gillies 4-40, D Wardle 3-25); *Barnby Dun 185-9 (M Nurse 42no; J Robinson 4-32), Featherstone 186-8 (J Dunn 52, A Perry 36no; P Decent 4-45); *Hatfield 256-6 (K Buxton 73, M Cockburn 40, J Stewart 40), Knottingley 183-9 (N Kirton 48; M Walton 3-52); Whitley Bridge 95, *Hemsworth 96-2.

Division 3: Bentley 239-2, *Normanton 104; Yorkshire Main 46, *Brodsworth 47-2; *Kilnhurst 165, Brook-Walton 166-2; Streethouse 175, Rossington 176-6; Glasshoughton 158, *Hundhill Hall 145; Darton 202-7. *Thurnscoe 203-4.

Division 4: South Kirkby 267, *Ackworth 216; *Hensall 209-7, Monk Bretton 145-6.

Division 5: Wombwell 143-9, *Featherstone 74; Bullcroft 151-9, *Fenwick 153-4; Rothwell 89, *Old Sharlston 92-1; Thurnscoe 144, *Pledwick 110; Fishlake 134, *Stainborough 138-2.

Division 6: *Pollington 219-9, Hemsworth 131-6; *Sandal 211-8, Hundhill 191-9; Stanley 200-9, *Whitley Bridge 117-7.

Division 7: Pledwick 114, *Allerton Bywater 116-5; *Bentley 122-8, Eggborough 74; Hooton Pagnell 231-7, *Glasshoughton 233-6; Brodsworth 116, *West Bretton 117-2.

Division 8: Peglers 132-9, *Garforth 66-0; *Nostell 153, Kilnhurst 144; Hensall 181-9, *Rossington 173; *Sykehouse 104, Askern 107-4.