League leaders Ackworth knocked out of cup

Streethouse's Jonathan Hughes on his way to 93 in Saturday's match against Old Sharlston. Picture: Steve Riding.
Streethouse's Jonathan Hughes on his way to 93 in Saturday's match against Old Sharlston. Picture: Steve Riding.
Share this article

Pontefract League leaders Ackworth maintained their unbeaten record in Division One by crushing Frickley on Saturday but they were knocked out of the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy at West Bretton the next day.

Luke Smith hit a half-century as Division Two joint leaders West Bretton overhauled Ackworth’s 134 that included 35 by Joe Seddon.

Ackworth had better luck the previous day with a 101-run victory over Frickley who were routed for 50 by Chris Welburn (5-14) and Kevin Marshall (3-7).

Ackworth are nine points clear of Fairburn and South Kirkby.

Fairburn continued their unbeaten start with a 39-run victory at Hooton Pagnell.

Ian Jones (45no) and James Clegg (45) top-scored as Fairburn posted 177-7 and Guy Abdy (5-18) toppled Hooton for 138 in reply.

Streethouse maintained their title challenge by inflicting defending champions Old Sharlston’s third league defeat of the campaign.

Sharlston managed only 147-8, chasing Streethouse’s 210-9 that featured 93 from Jonathan Hughes and 49 by Lee Ogden.

Dale McMullan (5-45) and Wayne Walker (40) were Sharlston’s best performers.

Sharlston lost again the next day in the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy first round.

They were beaten by 35 runs by Monk Bretton despite an excellent display from all-rounder Mark Reeves who hit 34 and claimed 5-23.

Monk Bretton visit Streethouse in the second round this Sunday. The other ties are West Bretton v Featherstone, South Kirkby v Allerton Bywater, Wombwell v Hooton Pagnell, Stainborough v Sandal, Whitley Bridge v Fishlake, Barnby Dun v Fairburn, Hatfield v Hemsworth.

Sunday’s AJS Teamwear Trephy second round ties are Brook-Walton v Darton, Rossington v Sykehouse, Streethouse A v Ryhill, Ackworth A v Hensall, Yorkshire Main v Glasshoughton, Normanton v South Kirkby A, Thurnscoe v Bentley, Brodsworth Main v Hundhill Hall.

West Bretton and Featherstone, who meet in the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy on Sunday, stayed level on points at the top of Division Two with victories over Allerton Bywater and Whitley Bridge respectively.

Joe Bakali (67), Jamie Robinson (65) and Adam Perry (56no)were in excellent batting form as Featherstone raced to 223-6 before declaring after 41 overs.

In reply, 10-man Whitley were routed for 28 by Dave Hiorns (6-7) and Todd Davis (3-20).

Allerton’s Usman Bashir (7-28) restricted West Bretton to 160 but the target proved too high for Allerton who were bowled out for 122.

Knottingley lost a low-scoring game against Sandal.

Eddie Wilson (4-21) and John Clark (4-26) toppled Sandal for 130 but the Wakefield side were rescued by Karl Hewitt (6-38) who routed Knottingley for 91.

Rob Sperrin continued his impressive start to the season in Division Three leaders Glasshoughton’s eight-wicket win at Darton.

Sperrin’s sparkling 97 took his tally to 489 runs in six games as the Castleford side overhauled Darton’s 162.

Sam Malyanbagged 4-47 in Hundhill Hall’s four-wicket success against Kilnhurst.

Streethouse 2nds narrowly lost at Brodsworth when they fell for 86, chasing the home side’s 100.

In Division Four, Jack Hart (61) and Paul Lumb (5-13) were Ferrybridge’s match-winners as they defeated Newton Hill by seven wickets.

Featherstone 2nds lost by eight wickets to Division Five derby rivals Old Sharlston 2nds, for whom Daniel Bullock hit an unbeaten 53.

All-rounder Simon Kemp (69no and 4-32) shone for Fairburn 2nds in a one-wicket win against Bullcroft.

Thorpe Audlin were bowled out for 126 in a nine-wicket loss at Stainborough 2nds.

Unbeaten Division Six leaders Pollington defeated Whitley Bridge 2nds by seven runs and Hundhill Hall 2nds achieved a 29-run success at Crofton 2nds.

Glasshoughton 2nds continued their promising start to the season in Division Seven by beating Knottingley 2nds.

Young Jake Medley took 4-22 as Knottingley were bowled out for 94.

Knottingley’s Tony Dove hit 47, aided by dropped catches

In reply, Tony Gale (30no) and Noor Sahaq (40no) saw Glasshoughton home with seven wickets to spare.

Allerton Bywater 2nds won by three runs at West Bretton 2nds and Thorpe Audlin 2nds eased to a five-wicket win against Ferrybridge 2nds who were routed for 64.

Last weekend’s Pontefract League results were:

Division 1: * Ackworth 151 (K McIntyre 3-29, A Elliott 3-43), Frickley 50 (C Welburn 5-14, K Marshall 3-7); *Fishlake 106 (R Crompton 4-21), Monk Bretton 76 (M Windass 4-12); Fairburn 177-7 (I Jones 45no, J Clegg 45; S Hardaker 3-38), *Hooton Pagnell 138 (L Stainthorpe 40; G Abdy 5-18); *Nostell 146-5 (L Hurst 52; T Reid 4-25), Stainborough 90 (L Hurst 5-7, K Atkinson 4-30); *Streethouse 210-9 (J Hughes 93, L Ogden 49; D McMullan 5-45, J Ball 3-52), Old Sharlston 147-8 (W Walker 40; S Bland 3-39); *Wombwell 98 (M Heritage 5-24), South Kirkby 100-4 (B Clarke 47).

Division 2: West Bretton 160 (J Winwood 53; U Bashir 7-28), *Allerton Bywater 122; *Askern 202-9 (N Bisby 45, D Longley 35), Crofton 51 (S Mantovani 6-19); Rothwell 141, *Barnby Dun 144-8; *Featherstone 223-6 (J Bakali 67, J Robinson 67, A Perry 56no), Whitley Bridge 28 (D Hiorns 6-7, T Davis 3-20); Hatfield 150-9, *Hemsworth 151-8 (J Heritage 46no); Sandal 130 (E Wilson 4-21, J Clark 4-26), *Knottingley 91 (K Hewitt 6-38).

Division 3: *Brodsworth 100, Streethouse 86; *Brook-Walton 193-8, Rossington 55; Kilnhurst 141, *Hundhill Hall 145-6; *Darton 162, Glasshoughton 163-2.

Division 4: Newton Hill 82, *Ferrybridge 85-3; *Frickley 161, Ackworth 151; *Hensall 122-6, Notton 123-3; Ryhill 124, *Monk Bretton 92.

Division 5: Bullcroft 133, *Fairburn 137-9; *Fenwick 128, Pledwick 129-4; Featherstone 87, *Old Sharlston 91-2; Fishlake 56, *Rothwell 59-2; Thorpe Audlin 126, *Stainborough 130-1.

Division 6: Wakefield Thornes 115, *Barnsley 85; Hundhill 119-7, *Crofton 90; *Hatfield 165, Hemsworth 158-9; Darton 140-6, *Sandal 141-2.

Division 7: *Bentley 210-7, Stanley 44; *Eggborough 112-9, Brodsworth 92; Knottingley 94, *Glasshoughton 96-3; *Pledwick 146-7, Hooton Pagnell 147-3; Ferrybridge 64, *Thorpe Audlin 65-5; Allerton Bywater 140, *West Bretton 137.

Division 8: *Kilnhurst b99, Askern 98; *Notton 167, Hensall 109; Normanton 150-8, *Peglers 105; Nostell 132-8, *Rossington 68.

Dyson-Skidmore Trophy (first round): Ackworth 134, *West Bretton 135-5; Monk Bretton 146-9, *Old Sharlston 111.