Bowlers battle it out in qualifiers

editorial image
Share this article

Qualifying matches for Castleford and District Crown Green Bowling Association’s annual festival will take place this week from today (Monday) to Friday.

The festival is at Pontefract Bowling Club on Saturday and Sunday, July 6 and 7.

There are 23 entries for the mixed pairs competition, with two to qualify from each of the four greens next Monday evening (6.30pm scratch).

Allerton Bywater: David Thomas and Karen Hill, Tony Chambers and Eunice Riding, Michael Hill junior and Michelle Lee, Ray Robbins and partner, Alan Lee and Pat Stewart, Mark Harrap and Kayleigh Kinsey.

Hawhill Park: David Thomas and Karen Hill, Andy Webb and Amanda Hagen, Neil Richardson and Doreen Mattison, David Dalton and Margaret Croxall, Ron Owen and Jan Collinson, Craig Newton and Nicole Farrar .

Queens Park: Stuart Thompson and Maureen Chambers, Dennis Hogg and Val Bradshaw, Robert Lloyd and Karen Portman, Michael Hill and Sarah Hill, John Webster and Lisa Thompson.

Townville: Len Collins and Corrine Franks, Nathan Webster and Nichola Portman, Steve Portman and Pat Walton, Alan Box and Gwen Hopps, Ted Parker and Nichola Eustace, Keith Smith and Maggie Boyes.

The gents pairs competition has 20 entries. Two will qualify at each of the four greens on Tuesday (6.30pm).

Ferrybridge: Craig Newton and John Webster, David Thomas and Ray Robbins, Michael Hill senior and Michael Hill junior, Robert Lloyd and Stuart Thompson, Steve Portman and Ryan Lloyd.

Glasshoughton: Keith Smith and John Child, Christopher Young and Bob Cheney, David Dalton and Michael Wood, Alan Lee and Steve Knight, Jack Sharp and Alan Walstow.

Townville: Dennis Hogg and John Squires, John Durham and Danny Revell, Mark Brain and Andy Webb, Steve Newport and Steve Williams, Ron Owen and George Wilson.

Queens Park: Tony Chambers and Mark Mace, Ted Parker and Paul Baddeley, Dennis Dobson and Roly Martin, Jeff Shipley and Neil Richardson, Michael Sherman and David Render.

The gents individual qualifying matches are next Wednesday (6.30pm scratch). One bowler will qualify from each of the eight greens.

Allerton Bywater: David Thomas, Dennis Dobson, Steve Knight, Phil Mountain, Len Collins.

Ferrybridge: Tony Chambers, Michael Lee, Nathan Webster, Michael Hill junior.

Townville: Ray Robbins, John Webster, Alan Box, David Watson.

Fryston: Craig Newton, Ted Parker, Alan Lee, Michael Hill senior.

Valley Gardens: John Swales, David Dalton, Steve Portman, Stuart Thompson.

Glasshoughton: Ron Owen, Andy Webb, Jake Durham, Michael Sherman.

Savile Park: Mark Brain, Paul Baddeley, Daryl Harrap, Dennis Hogg.

Queens Park: Sid Bridges, Danny Revell, Keith Smith, Chris Young.

The ladies individual qualifiers are on Thursday (6.30pm scratch). Four will qualify from each of the two greens.

Ferrybridge: Maureen Chambers, Karen Portman, Sarah Hill, Lyn Dye, Eunice Riding, Lisa Thompson.

Queens Park: Pat Stewart, Pat Walton, Amanda Hagen, Nichola Portman, Gwen Hopps, Sheila Proberts, Maggie Boyes.

There are nine entries for the ladies pairs qualifier at Featherstone on Friday, June 15 (6.30). Eight pairs qualify.

Doreen Mattison and Thelma Newbould, Sarah Hill and Jennifer Hill, Nichola Eustace and Val Bradshaw, Pat Walton and Maggie Boyes, Jan Collinson and Eunice Riding, Nichole Farrar and Amanda Hagen, Maureen Chambers and Lisa Thompson, Karen Portman and Nichola Portman, Sheila Proberts and Pat Batty.