Bowls festival qualifying matches take place this week

The mixed pairs qualifiers are at Fryston and Townville onn Monday.
The mixed pairs qualifiers are at Fryston and Townville onn Monday.

Qualifying matches for Castleford and District Crown Green Bowling Association’s annual festival will be held this week.

The mixed pairs qualifiers are at Fryston and Townville tomorrow (Monday) with four pairs qualifying from each venue.

Fryston: K Smith/C Clynch, A Webb/A Hagen, M Hill (senior)/S Hill, M Brain/J Brain, R Owen/J Collinson, D Dobson/S Dye, E Parker/N Eustace, G Gidman/V Bradshaw, J J Durham/S Carroll.

Townville: W Kemp/K Butterfield, A Lee/P Hemingway, M Mace/M Chambers, S Thompson/M O’Donovan, M Sherman/E Riding, S Portman/P Walton, R Lloyd/K Portman.

The gents pairs matches are on Tuesday at Ferrybridge and Glasshoughton. Four pairs will qualify from each green.

Ferrybridge: S Portman/Ryan Lloyd, C Young/B Cheney, M Hill/M Hill, D Thomas/D Baines, A Box/R Dunwell, S Thompson/R Lloyd, R Owen/ S Waite, P Whipp/M Mace, A Webb/M Brain, G Gidman/G Powis.

Glasshoughton: J Swales/D Hogg, Jake Durham/D Revell, C King/D Watson, A Lee/W Kemp, D Dobson/R Martin. A Richardson/K Smith, J Gibson/D Rundle, J Shipley/N Richardson, E Parker/P Baddeley, D Harrap/Mike Harrap.

On Wednesday the gents individual qualifiers will take place at Castleford and Queens Park, with four qualifying from each green.

Castleford: C Young, G Powis, S Portman, D Thomas, R Owen, A Webb, Mark Harrap, S Thompson, N Richardson, D Watson, M Brain, A Box, Ryan Lloyd, P Whipp.

Queens Park: S Bridges, A Lee, W Kemp, Rob Lloyd, M Young, M Hill senior, M Hill junior, G Gidman, D Dobson, J Swales, P Baddeley, E Parker, D Hogg.

The ladies individual competition has attracted 12 entrants from which eight will qualify at Hawhill on Thursday.

Hawhill: M Chambers, A Hagen, C Lynch, S Hill, L Dye, A Charlotte, E Riding, J Collinson, K Portman, P Walton, N Eustace, V Bradshaw.

The ladies pairs qualifying competition is at Smirthwaite next Friday. Eight will qualify.

Smirthwaite: J Brain/A Hagen, L Dye/B Lumb, J Collinson/E Riding, P Hemingway/J Emery, S Hill/J Hill, A Charlotte/E Charlotte, K Portman/M Chambers, P Walton/M Boyes, C Sutcliffe/J Jonson, T Newbould/D Mattison, N Eustace/V Bradshaw, C Franks/K Day.

Latest positions in the Castleford and District Crown Green Bowling Association are:


Division 1: Glasshoughton A played 7, won 7-7-1098; Smirthwaite A 7- 5-1016; Pontefract A 7-4-1001; Queens Park A 7-3-974; Savile Park 7-2-914; Glasshoughton B 7-2-904; Hawhill Park A 7-3-901; Ferrybridge A 7-3-890; Pontefract B 6-3-833; Castleford Town B 6-2-787; Allerton Bywater A 6-3-770; Fryston A 6-2-761.

Division 2: Townville 6-6-942; Valley Gardens A 6-5-939; Hawhill Park B 7-1-811; Pontefract C 6-3-777; Ferrybridge B 6-3-776; Allerton Bywater B 5-3-702; Queens Park B 5-2-633; Smirthwaite B 4-2-558; Featherstone A 4- 2- 556; 10. Valley Gardens B 5-0-494.


Glasshoughton 7-6-549; Featherstone 8-4-538; Queens Park A 7-6-527; Allerton Bywater 7-3-522; Valley Gardens 7-3-502; Queens Park B 7-5-501; Valley Ridge 7-5-501; Townville 7-5-490; Kippax 7-3-454; Methley 7-1-420; Ferrybridge 7-1-366; Hawhill Park 8-0-328.


Division 1: Pontefract A 5-5-753; Savile Park 4-2-554; Townville 4-1-537; Valley Gardens 4-0-509; Fryston 4-1-507; Ferrybridge 4-0-500; Glasshoughton A 3-3-476; Allerton Bywater A 3-3-450; Castleford Town B 3-1-404.

Division 2: Pontefract B 4-3-550; Featherstone 3-2-411; Smirthwaite 3-1-411; Queens Park 3-1-409; Hawhill 3-1-385.


Premier: Garforth Rec A 6-3-623; Colton A 6-2-603; Pontefract A 6-3-597; Smirthwaite A 5-5-592; Rothwell BC A 5-4-577; Cas Town A 5-3-553; Valley Ridge A 6-2-541; Kippax A 6-2-536; Garforth CC A 5-2-523; Glasshoughton A 5-2-513; Queens Park A 5-2-506.

Section A: Allerton 5-5-565; Ferrybridge A 5-4-530; Townville 5-3-524; Hawhill Park A 5-2-522; Pontefract B 5-2-513; Sherburn A 5-2-512; Methley A 5-2-494; Glasshoughton B 5-2-491; Savile Park A 5-2-490; Colton B 5-1-444.

Section B: Swillington A 5-5-605; Rothwell BC B 5-4-576; Cas Town B 5-3-554; Valley Gardens A 5-3-543; Rothwell Park B 5-3-502; Rothwell Park A 5-3-484; Woodlesford A 5-3-468; Smirthwaite B 5-0-455; Swillington B 5-1-444; Aberford 5-0-419.

Section C: Garforth Rec B 5-4-551; Garforth CC B 5-3-525; Featherstone 5-3-522; Hawhill Park B 5-1-474; Ferrybridge B 4-4-445; Queens Park B 4-2-420; Valley Ridge B 4-2-410; Valley Gardens B 4-1-390; Sherburn B 4-0-362.


Division 1: Ossett Flying Horse 4-4-485; Garforth Rec 5-2-469; Methley 5-2-417; Pontefract 4-2-403; Wakefield 4-1-300.