Club’s top athletes presented with awards

editorial image

PONTEFRACT Athletics Club honoured its top performers at its first awards night at Pontefract Rugby Union Club on Friday.

Trophies and shields were presented to club members for outstanding performances in 2010 across the three disciplines of road running, track and field and cross country.

Christine McCarthy (pictured) received an award for being the female marathon runner of the year.

The award was made in recognition of Christine’s outstanding performance in the Berlin Marathon last September when she crossed the line in three hours 13 minutes 21 seconds. Her time placed her fifth in the 2010 British rankings list for the marathon for women over 50. Her performance was classed as National Standard on the World Association of Veteran Athletes tables and calculations by achieving 83.18 percent of the world record for somebody of the same age and gender.

Christine was also the winner of the road running rankings award. This was given for the best average performance over distances of 10K, 10 miles and half marathon. Faye Banks received the trophy for the road running rankings runner up. Faye also received a special award for her performance in the Berlin Marathon, where she clocked an outstanding two hours, 57 minutes 33 seconds.

Michael Flaherty was the winner of the Road Running Grand Prix and Faye Banks was the winner of the Ladies Division of the Road Running Grand Prix. These awards were made for performances throughout the year in a series of 10 races over various distances from 5K to 10 miles. Flaherty was also the men’s winner of the marathon runner of the year award for clocking three hours 18 minutes 33 seconds in the London Marathon last April.

Alex Dunnill was the male junior track and field athlete of the year. In the Young Athletes League, he won all his three events, the pole vault, hammer and discus in the under 17 men’s age group in the first fixture at Doncaster.

In the second fixture at Trafford, he won the same three events again, setting a club record in the hammer with a throw of 30.62 metres. In the third fixture at Hull, he won the pole vault and finished third in the hammer and discus.

In the fourth fixture at Cleethorpes he won the pole vault again, finished second in the triple jump and third in the discus.

Maria Schofield was the female junior track and field athlete of the year. In the West Yorkshire Track and Field Championships last September, she won two bronze medals in the under 11 girls age group despite being one year younger than most of the other competitors. She was third in the 600 metres in a time of two minutes, 15.21 seconds, and she was third in the shot putt with a throw of 4.54 metres.

Nick Kennett was the winner of the club’s 5K series of races in Pontefract Park. Sonya Jordan and Emily Tarrant were joint winners of the ladies 5K series of races.

Ben Brice won the junior boys 2K series of races in Pontefract Park with Amy Middler taking the prize for the junior girls 2K series of races. Amy also won the female junior cross country runner of the year award.

Lewis Schofield was the male junior cross country runner of the year and Faye Banks was the senior ladies cross country runner of the year.

In the club’s track and field Series of three competitions held at Pontefract’s Kings School, the overall winners were: Under 11 boys: Bradley Haigh, Under 11 girls: Maria Schofield. Under 13 boys: Lewis Schofield. Under 13 girls: Amy Haigh. Under 15 boys: William Carter. Under 15 girls: Lucy Appleyard. Under 17 men: Alex Dunnill.

Meanwhile, in last Sunday’s Dewsbury 10K Road Race, out of a large field of 970 finishers, Christine McCarthy was the second woman over 50 to finish, crossing the line in 44 minutes 39 seconds. Michael Flaherty was the first finisher from Pontefract Athletics Club in 42-22. Angela Hannon had a good run, finishing in 43-15 and new member, Emily Tarrant, did well to dip under the one hour mark, crossing in 59-19.