Fry in sizzling form for Power Station team

Richard Fry was man of the match for C Station A.
Richard Fry was man of the match for C Station A.

YMCA D inflicted a first defeat of the season on clubmates YMCA A in Castleford, Pontefract and District Table Tennis League.

Phil Cawser, who is proving to be a terrific asquisition for YMCA D, won all his games.

He beat Alan Hanson convincingly over three sets and Rob Connell over three, albeit by close margins in each set.

In his match with Peter Hugill, Cawser had his hardest fight on the nightwith each of them taking sets alternately.

Peter showed tremenndous skill and speed. However, in the fifth set Phil made good use of his tricky serves to take the win 11-7.

Gordon Cooper and Ian Instone added to the tally by both beating Alan Hanson, over four sets but only by close margins.

Rob went on to beat Ian over four sets and Gordon over five.

To round off the win, Phil and Gordon beat Rob and Peter in the doubles over three sets.

C Station A beat Knottingley B 7-3.

Man of the match for C Station was Richard Fry who beat Neil Cooper over four sets, Bob McNaught over five and Dave Cooper over three.

Richard Lumb beat Neil and Bob over five , but lost to Dave over three.

Andy Adams defeated Neil over five and Bob over three, but lost to Dave narrowly over five.

Richard Fry and Andy lost to Neil and Bob over four sets.

In seeking revenge for this defeat, Knottingley A beat C Station B 9-1.

Paul Meason beat Keith Lumb over three sets and Rob White and Dave Tennant over four.

Alan Yip defeated Keith over four sets and Rob and Dave over three convincingly.

Dennis Shaw lost to Keith over three sets, but beat Rob over four and Dave over three.

The doubles went to Paul and Dennis who beat Rob and Dave over three.

Knock-out Cup (first round) results: YMCA C 5 (Bailey Pye 2, Daniel Ferguson 2, Connor Morris 1), Knottingley A 0 (Alan Yip 0, Tim Condon 0, Paul Meason); YMCA C 5 (Phil Cawser 2, Debbie Wanbon 2, Elana McClements 1), C Station B 2 (Richard Lumb 1, Richard Fry 1, Andy Adams 0); YMCA A 5 (Peter Hugill 2, Rob Connell 2, John Senior 1), Knottingley B 0 (Bob McNaught 0, Neil Cooper 0, Marcus Hookham 0); YMCA B 5 (M Cambridge 2, Chris Inman 2, Carl Keegan 1), C Station B 0 (Keith Lumb 0, Dave Tennant 0, Rob White 0).