Glasshoughton win trophy final

Glasshoughton snatched a thrilling 205-202 victory in Sunday's final.
Glasshoughton snatched a thrilling 205-202 victory in Sunday's final.

Glasshoughton Welfare Bowling Club beat Pudsey BC in the final of Yorkshire’s Eric Hutchinson Memorial Trophy at Outwood WMC, on Sunday.

With the first four jacks completed, Glasshoughton were up against it. They trailed by 30 points and had only one winner.

The second four bowlers then took to the green and three of them won to cut the deficit to 23 points.

After a break because of torrential rain, the final four bowlers swung the match Glasshoughton’s way.

Mo Chambers beat her opponent 21-5 with some excellent long length bowling. When Rob Lloyd won 21-11, the game was back in Glasshoughtons favour.

Brian Clarke was pipped 21-15, leaving the outcome of the final in hands of Stuart Thompson who won 21-15 to give Glasshoughton a 205-202 victory.

RESULTS (Glasshoughton players named first): D Thomas 13, S Watson 21; A Hagen 15, S Hanson 21; G Robinson 3, D Hilliam 21; M Brain 21, L Rice 19; A Box 21, D Crawley 13; Ryan Lloyd 21, R Hodgson 18; J Brain 12, R Matthews 21; A Webb 21, T Lawrence 15; Rob Lloyd 21, K Rankin 11; M Chambers 21, D Davis 5; B Clark 15, D Beardsworth 21; S Thompson 21, P Cousins 15.

On Saturday, September 5, eight Castleford and district champions will compete for the end of the season Champion of Champions Trophy at Pontefract BC (6.30pm start).

Battling it out will be Rob Lloyd, Ryan Lloyd, Mark Harrap, Darryl Harrap, Josh Thomas, Eunice Riding, Val Bradshaw and Christine Sutcliffe Dress code applies.

The final of the first of Castleford and District Veterans Association’s team competitions, the Len Pickersgill Cup, takes place at Methley BC on Friday, September 4 (1.30pm start) between Swillington A and Valley Gardens A.

The Alan Hardisty Challenge Cup final will be the following Friday (September 11) at Queens Park BC, Castleford (1.30pm start) when Glasshoughton A and Sherburn A (+12) lock horns. Dress code applies for both finals.

Savile Park are in pole position in Castleford and District Crown Green Bowling Association’s Saturday League Division One.

Savile are 11 points clear of closest rivals Fryston, with Castleford Town B a further 14 points adrift in third spot.

Glasshoughton have taken over from Smirthwaite at the top of Evening League Division One.

Glasshoughton lead Smirthwaite by 26 points and also have a match in hand.

Valley Gardens A have a 39 point lead over Townville in Division Two.

Pairs League leaders Glasshoughton are 144 points clear of second-placed Queens Park.

Latest positions:


Division 1: Glasshoughton A played 17, won 16, points 2659; Smirthwaite A 18-14-2633; Queens Park A 18-11-2577; Pontefract A 17-10-2478; Pontefract B 18-7-2401; Castleford Town B 17-9-2367; Hawhill Park A 18-6-2340; Allerton Bywater A 17-8-2324; Ferrybridge A 18-6-2280; Glasshoughton B 18-4-2239; Savile Park 17-7-2232; Fryston A 17-6-2159.

Division 2: Valley Gardens A 15-13-2328; Townville 15-13-2289; Allerton Bywater B 15-9-2107; Hawhill Park B 16-4-1933; Ferrybridge B 15-7-1927; Smirthwaite B 13-10-1923; Featherstone A 14-7-1900; Queens Park B 14-4-1843; Pontefract C 15-6-1801; Valley Gardens B 14-0-1399.


Glasshoughton 19-18-1515; Queens Park B 19-12-1371; Queens Park A 18-14-1370; Allerton Bywater 18-11-1335; Valley Ridge 18-14-1325; Townville 18-12-1277; Featherstone 19-9-1266; Valley Gardens 19-8-1245; Ferrybridge 19-3-1068; Kippax 18-3-1063; Methley 18-3-1030; Hawhill Park 19-1-879.


Division 1: Savile Park 13-7-1868; Fryston 13-7-1857; Castleford Town B 13-6-1843; Glasshoughton A 12-11-1817; Pontefract A 12-11-1810; Allerton Bywater A 13-8-1804; Townville 14-3-1724; Ferrybridge 13-3-1708; Valley Gardens 13-0-1451.

Division 2: Pontefract B 12-8-1673; Queens Park 12-6-1641; Featherstone 12-6-1582; Smirthwaite 11-5-1530; Hawhill 11-4-1324.


Premier: Rothwell BC A 16-13-1814; Pontefract A 17-10-1796; Cas Town A 16-9-1710; Garforth CC A 16-8-1686; Glasshoughton A 16-9-1684; Garforth Rec A 17-6-1682; Colton A 17-9-1674; Smirthwaite A 16-9-1663; Queens Park A 16-8-1642; Valley Ridge A 16-6-1581; Kippax A 17-3-1539.

Section A: Allerton 15-10-1696; Townville 15-9-1601; Hawhill Park A 15-8-1587; Savile Park A 15-9-579; Sherburn A 15-6-1567; Pontefract B 15-7-1540; Glasshoughton B 15-7-1536; Ferrybridge A 14-9-1471; Methley A 14-5-1410; Colton B 15-3-1300.

Section B: Swillington A 15-11-1686; Valley Gardens A 15-7-1547; Cas Town B 14-11-1546; Rothwell Park B 15-8-1520; Rothwell BC B 14-9-1497; Woodlesford A 15-9-1495; mirthwaite B 15-3-1419; Rothwell Park A 14-9-1405; Aberford 14-4-1276; Swillington B 15-2-1269.

Section C: Featherstone 14-11-1561; Garforth Rec B 14-8-1536; Garforth CC B 14-9-1455; Queens Park B 13-8-1430; Ferrybridge B 13-9-1318; Hawhill Park B 13-6-1289; Sherburn B 13-3-1267; Valley Ridge B 13-5-1264; Valley Gardens B 13-1-1117.


Division 1: Ossett Flying Horse 12-12-1462; Garforth Rec 13-5-1205; Pontefract 12-6-1172; Methley 13-5-1171; Wakefield 12-3-986.