Road closures for Tour de Yorkshire

Tour de Yorkshire route
Tour de Yorkshire route

Road closures during the first ever Tour de Yorkshire have been announced.

Starting on Friday, May 1 the race takes place in three stages and the final stage will start in the city on Sunday, May 3.

A number of roads in and around the city centre will be closed between 6am and 3pm.

The roads include Back Lane, Bell Street, Bond Street, Borough Road, Bread Street, Brook Street, Bull Ring, Burton Street, Cathedral Walk, Cliff Parade and Cross Square.

Other roads to be closed include Drury Lane, Kirkgate, Laburnum Road, Lower Warrengate, Marygate, Northgate, Northgate, Rishworth Street, Smyth Street, Teall Street, The Springs, Union Street, Westgate, Westmorland Street and Wood Street.

Drivers are also advised not to park on these streets from 6pm on Saturday, May 2 until 3pm on Sunday, May 3.

Any vehicles left in these streets during this time will be parked illegally and may be towed away.

The riders will take part in a ceremonial start in Northgate and outside Wakefield Cathedral before the official start at the junction of Agbrigg Road and Barnsley Road (A61).

The race will officially start at 12.30pm.

Riders will pass through Sandal and Newmillerdam before leaving the district at Woolley.

They will finish the race in Leeds at around 4.34pm.

For more information about the tour visit