Road Runners celebrate successful year

Club gold awards were achieved by 12 members.
Club gold awards were achieved by 12 members.

More than 70 members of Ackworth Road Runners celebrated another successful year at the club’s annual awards night at Burntwood Court, Brierley.

Award winners: HANDICAPS - Spring: Jim Spencer. Summer: Mick Chapman. Autumn: Ann Johnson who also won the Alan Richardson Memorial Shield. Winter: Jonathon Routeledge. Series winner: Rob Sproston.

London Marathon - First male: Andrew Mascarenhas. First female: Julie Morgan. Each shared the Mick Eaton Memorial Trophy.

Globetrotter (for most mileage covered in races) - Male: Adrian Leach. Female: Maria McDonald-Leach.

Grand Prix - Open winner: Mark Mills who won the Ryder-Thorpe Memorial Shield. Age adjusted: Martin Stearn. Ladies: Becci Winter who also won the Betty Goodwin Trophy. Age adjusted: Janet Davis.

Grading awards (based on the World Association of Veteran Athletics comparisons with age group world records) - Platinum: Trevor Nichol (also winning the Founder’s Trophy) and Martin Stearn. It is the third year these two members have achieved this high standard. There were four national gold awards, eight silver and 16 bronze.

Club gold awards were achieved by 12 members, silver by nine and bronze by one. Under this grading system Helen Wainwright was adjudged to be the most improved runner winning the Eric Wood Memorial Shield.