Unbeaten champions complete campaign in style

YMCA D won all 16 league matches.
YMCA D won all 16 league matches.

Castleford, Pontefract and District Table Tennis League champions YMCA D completed their league campaign in style.

They made it 16 wins from 16 matches by beating closest rivals YMCA B 7-3.

YMCA D’s Phil Cawser and Keith Powell won all their three matches.

Cawser beat Graham Wylie and Chris Inman over four sets and John Keegan over three.

Powell beat Keegan over three, Wylie over four and Inman over five. The duo also won the doubles, beating Inman and Keegan convincingly over three.

YMCA D’s Gordon Cooper lost to Wylie and Keegan over four sets before conceding against Inman due to time factors.

YMCA E won 7-3 at C Station B.

John Wainwright achieved the best results for C Station.

After initially losing to Daniel Ferguson over five sets, having won the first two, Wainwright won his next two games.

Wainwright beat Barry Johnson over five sets.

After losing the first set, he won the next two by a two point margin.

In his final game, Wainwright came on top against Jamie Rusling over four close sets.

Richard Lumb also beat Johnson narrowly over five sets but he lost to Ferguson over three sets and Rusling over five.

An unnamed C Station player lost all three games but played well in losing to Rusling over five sets, Ferguson over four and Johnson over three.

Wainwright and Lumb lost to Ferguson and Rusling in the doubles over five sets.

YMCA A eased to a 9-1 victory at Knottingley A.

Alan Yip achieved Knottingley’s only point by beating John Spedding over five sets.

Yip lost over three sets to Peter Hugill and over five sets to Rob Connell by the narrowest of margins, being pipped 11-13 in the last set.

Knottingley’s Dennis Shaw lost over four sets to Connell, over five to Spedding and three to Hugill.

Tim Condon lost to Hugill and Connell over three. He took Spedding to five sets, losing in the final set.

Shaw and Condon lost to Connell and Hugill in another five set marathon in the doubles.

C Station A achieved their best result this season by beating Knottingley B 9-1 after winning all the singles matches.

Andy Adams beat Bob McNaught over three sets, Neil Cooper narrowly over four competitive sets and Marcus Hookham over three.

Keith Lumb showed good form to beat Hookham and McNaught over three and Cooper over five.

Richard Fry also beat Cooper over five close sets, Hookham over three and McNaught over five, having lost the first two.

Adams and Fry could not repeat their singles victories in the doubles. They lost over five sets to McNaught and Cooper.

Knottingley A beat C Station A 5-2 in the lower division Knockout Cup final.

In a first to five competition, Alan Yip beat Richard Fry and Andy Adams over three sets each and Keith Lumb over four.

Tim Condon defeated Lumb over five sets and Adams over three.

Knottingley’s Dennis Shaw did not play well, losing to Fry over three and Lumb over four.