Waites wins thrilling final at Townville

Darts results.
Darts results.

Townville Recreation and Sports Club hosted the third round of the Bradford Darts Promotion’s 2015 competition on Saturday.

Cold weather did not put off the hardened darts enthusiasts as the club had an entry list of 143 including several Yorkshire County players, including eventual winner Scott Waites, Jamie Wilson, Gary Thompson, Brian Dawson and local lads, Curtis Turner, Tom Sykes and Cameron Hinchcliffe.

It turned out to be one of the strongest events for a long time and the standard was remarkable at times, with Waites just missing a nine-dart finish in the first leg of his first game.

Quarter finals (best of seven legs): Jamie Ellam 3, Brendan Marren (Keighley) 4; Jaron Esteve 0, Darren Johnson (Doncaster) 4; Dave Everett 3, Matt Padgett (Ilkeston) 4; Dave Midgley 1, Scott Waites 4.

Semi-finals (best of nine legs): Marron 2, Johnson 5; Padgett 1, Waites 5.

Waites and Johnson contested a magnificent final over the best of nine legs. Johnson took a 3 - 1 lead before Waites hit back to lead 4-3. Johnson won the eighth leg to level at 4-4 but Waites came out on top 5-4 in the final leg.