Brothers Max and Joe Litchfield confirmed in Team GB team for Tokyo Olympics

Badsworth brothers Max and Joe Litchfield have been named in the Team GB swimming team for the Tokyo Olympic Games.

Tuesday, 27th April 2021, 1:29 pm
Tokyo bound: Joe (left) and Max Litchfield.

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has today confirmed 24 additional swimmers who will represent Team GB at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games this summer. This follows the second phase of selection after last week's British Swimming Selection Trials and the Badsworth boys heave earned their selection.

Joining the four pre-selected swimmers, Adam Peaty, Duncan Scott, James Wilby and Luke Greenbank, who were named back in January, the current team size now stands at 28.

The team includes Joe litchfield, who will be travelling to his first Olympic Games having risen through the ranks in the last few years.

Older brother Max has been competing at world level for a number of years and it will be a second Olympics for him after he was part of Team GB in Rio in 2016, finishing fourth in his medley event after swimming a personal best in the final.

Team GB Chef de Mission for Tokyo 2020, Mark England, commented: “In the space of less than a week we have seen the number of Team GB athletes selected for Tokyo jump from 40 to 70, which is incredibly exciting and demonstrates just how much the momentum is growing as we edge closer to 23rd July.

“The quality of this team is exceptionally high and the recent selection trials illustrated how dedicated each swimmer has been to earning their selection for Tokyo throughout what has undoubtedly been a very challenging period. Congratulations to everyone and we look forward to watching you all in action in Tokyo.”

Speaking of the quality of the team selected to travel to Japan, British Swimming Performance Director and Swimming Team Leader for Tokyo, Chris Spice, said: “What an amazing week of racing we just witnessed at the iconic London Aquatic Centre. We had several stand out performances and personal bests at every turn.

"We have over 40 per cent athletes on the team that were not with us at our last World Championships in 2019, which demonstrates the outstanding work coaches and support staff across Britain have done keeping these athletes training to the highest of levels in very challenging circumstances during the last 18 months.

“Of course, our work has only just begun and we now turn our attention to swimming faster in the summer which I know every athlete on this team is capable of. If we do this I am sure we can have a very successful Tokyo Games.”

Team GB's Tokyo 2020 Swimming Squad:

(Swimmer - Hometown, Club)

Adam Peaty – Uttoxeter, Loughborough National Centre (pre-selected in January 2021)

Abbie Wood – Buxton, Loughborough National Centre

Aimee Willmott - Middlesborough, University of Stirling

Alicia Wilson - Tadworth, Guilford City

Alys Thomas – Swansea, Swansea University

Anna Hopkin – Chorley, Loughborough National Centre

Ben Proud – London, Bath University

Brodie Williams - Street, Bath National Centre

Calum Jarvis - Wadebridge, Bath National Centre

Cassie Wild - Chester, University of Stirling

Dan Jervis – Neath, Swansea University

Duncan Scott – Glasgow, University of Stirling (pre-selected in January 2021)

Freya Anderson – Upton (The Wirral), Bath National Centre

Harriet Jones – Cardiff, City of Cardiff

Jacob Peters - Poole, Bath National Centre

Jacob Whittle - Alfreton, Derventio Excel

James Guy – Bury, Bath National Centre

James Wilby – York, Loughborough National Centre (pre-selected in January 2021)

Joe Litchfield – Pontefract, Loughborough National Centre

Kathleen Dawson, Warrington, University of Stirling

Kieran Bird – Bicester, Bath National Centre

Luke Greenbank – Cockermouth, Loughborough National Centre (pre-selected in January 2021)

Matthew Richards - Droitwich, Bath National Centre

Max Litchfield – Pontefract, Loughborough National Centre

Molly Renshaw – Mansfield, Loughborough National Centre

Ross Murdoch – Balloch, University of Stirling

Sarah Vasey - Derby, Loughborough National Centre

Tom Dean – Maidenhead, Bath National Centre