Piggott hammers magnificent 217

CRAIG Piggott celebrates after hitting a match-winning 217 for Pontefract League Division One leaders Fairburn in Saturday's win over Frickley.
CRAIG Piggott celebrates after hitting a match-winning 217 for Pontefract League Division One leaders Fairburn in Saturday's win over Frickley.
Share this article

CRAIG Piggott hit a superb 217 off 158 balls as Fairburn increased their lead in Pontefract League Division One to 17 points by winning Saturday’s high-scoring match against Frickley Colliery.

Piggott struck 18 sixes and 16 fours in his whirlwind knock. It included five sixes off one over as Fairburn overhauled Frickley’s formidable 299-4 with 11 balls to spare.

Ashley Vickers was in outstanding form for Frickley, smashing six sixes and 28 fours in a tremendous 203. He shared a 256-run stand with Jim Handley (77).

In reply, Fairburn lost openers Ryan Greatrick and Ian Jones cheaply before Piggott got to work. He shared a 105-run partnership with Chris Neilson without the latter scoring a run.

When Piggott was out, Fairburn still needed 20 to win and Neilson (13no) and Paul Clark (6no) completed the job.

Fairburn’s closest rivals Featherstone lost by 20 runs at Old Sharlston.

Dale McMullan (60) and Stuart Bailey (28) guided Sharlston to 182-7 and Rob Simpson (3-40) limited Featherstone’s reply to 162-9.

Featherstone’s defeat was hard on all-rounder Dave Hiorns (39no and 3-43).

Streethouse’s hopes of retaining the championship faded with a second successive home defeat when they lost by seven wickets to Ackworth.

David Harris (79) guided Ackworth to victory after Craig Walker (4-32) bowled out Streethouse for 173 that included 48 by Paul Langley.

Whitley Bridge improved their chances of avoiding relegation from Division Two by beating fellow strugglers Glasshoughton by eight wickets.

Liam Hopton (61) and Noor Ayaz Sahaq (47) top scored as Glasshoughton posted 182-9.

Matthew Daniel (3-50) was Whitley’s most successful bowler.

Safaq (2-35) reduced Whitley’s reply to 10-2 by dismissing James Pearson and Tony Holmes but Chris Smith and Nigel Oldfield staged a match-winning recovery.

Smith hammered 12 fours in an unbeaten 81 and shared an unbroken 175-run third-wicket stand with Oldfield whose undefeated 75 also featured 12 boundaries.

A magnificent 122 by Nick Kirton was the highlight of Division Three leaders Knottingley’s 63-run victory against Darton.

Kirton steered Knottingley to 241-8 and Eddie Wilson snapped up 6-33 from 12.3 overs to topple Darton for 178 in reply.

Streethouse A maintained their challenge by beating Ackworth A who finished on 198-7, replying to Streethouse’s 208-7.

Allerton Bywater lost at Sandal when they managed only 185-9, chasing the Wakefield side’s formidable 269-5.

Hundhill Hall have a 13-point lead in Division Four after beating Monk Bretton A by 34 runs.

Simon Jewitt (49), Josh Hurcomb (38) and Peter Ferguson (34) top scored in Hundhill’s total of 201-8.

Elliot Fletcher (4-17) and Jewitt (3-26) kept Monk Bretton’s reply at 167-9.

Ferrybridge Power Station lost by three wickets to Yorkshire Main.

John Goddard (50), Sam Angel (43no) and Paul Snowdon (4-58) were Ferrybridge’s best performers.

Division Five strugglers Whitley Bridge lost by seven wickets to Garforth.

Robert Clayton (44no) and Jacob Bury (30) steered Whitley to 143.

Garforth’s Phil Wood grabbed a hat trick in a return of 6-32.

Opener Andy Appleyard (75no) led Garforth’s successful reply.

Featherstone A returned to winning ways in Division Five by beating derby rivals Old Sharlston A by five wickets.

Batting first, Sharlston lost a wicket in the first over before Richard Scott (90) and Kyle Cleobury, (44) put on 76.

Sharlston looked set for a large total but Connor Jackson turned the game. by dismssing Scott and then taking three wickets in one over to finish with figures of 4-28.

Chasing 189 for 8, Featherstone were never in any trouble with Robin Sykes (43), Jason Picken (38) and Kieran Earnshaw (27) leading the way.

Thorpe Audlin lost by 69 runs at Pledwick.

In Division Six, Fairburn A collected maximum points at Stanley A who were bowled out for 92 by Gareth Weaver (3-7) and skipper Chris Dillerstone (2-12).

in reply, Dillerstone (47no) and Rhys weaver (30no) knocked off the runs with 28 overs to spare as Fairburn won by nine wickets.

Chris Heseltine’s undefeated half-century saw Hundhill Hall A overhaul Hatfield Town’A’s total of 155.

Adam Jones struck a superb unbeaten 84 as Ferrybridge Power Station A beat Pledwick A by eight wickets in Division seven.

Andy Adams (3-19) and Paul Snowdon (3-22) routed Pledwick for 110 and Jones almost single-handedly knocked off the runs.

Knottingley A came out second best against Hemsworth A due mainly to an unbeaten 87 by the experienced Richard Locke.

Richard Locke and Lee Perks (53) guided Hemsworth to 235-6.

Knottingley’s valiant effort in reply fell short when they finished on 209-7 despite excellent work by Jack Pugh (30), Tony Dove (49) and top scorer Stu Ellison (65).

Glasshoughton A lost by 49 runs to Fenwick.

Fenwick posted 226-6, with Glasshoughton’s Peter Cockroft and Elliott Spears each claiming two wickets.

In reply, Glasshoughton openers Andy Simpson (59) and Tony Gale (36) put on 86 but the Castleford side eventually closed on 177-7.

In Division Eight, Thorpe Audlin A defeated Bentley Colliery A by eight wickets,.

Eggborough Power Station were routed for 40 in a five-wicket defeat at Brodsworth A.