Departing star wins top Castleford Tigers award

Rangi Chase in action for Castleford Tigers.
Rangi Chase in action for Castleford Tigers.

Departing stand-off Rangi Chase was the big winner when Castleford Tigers held their annual player of the year awards night at The New Wheatsheaf.

All the players attended the event to celebrate an improved 2013 Super League season where the Tigers finished in 12th place, just six points outside the play-off places.

Chase won the player of the year and players’ player of the year awards while Justin Carney was the fans’ choice, Weller Hauraki the directors’ choice and Oliver Holmes the young player of the year.

It was announced that Brian Ashworth would be retiring from his role on the board of directors after 24 years of service. He was presented with a special award as a thank you for his work during that time.

Full list of winners:

Player of the year: Rangi Chase; second Justin Carney; third Nathan Massey.

Fans’ player of the year: Justin Carney.

Young player of the year: Oliver Holmes.

Directors’ player of the year: Weller Hauraki.

Players’ player of the year: Rangi Chase.

Under 19s awards:

Player of the year: Ben Reynolds.

Shooting star: Brad Foster.

Most improved: Ben Passmore.

Coaches’ player of the year: Lewis Farr.

Special Awards: Matthew Merrick (25 years’ service in nearly every role behind the scenes at the club) and Craig Huby (10 years playing service).