Rangi up for international award

Rangi Chase. Picture: SWpix.com/Gillette
Rangi Chase. Picture: SWpix.com/Gillette
Share this article

CASTLEFORD Tigers star Rangi Chase is in the running for another award after being shortlisted for stand-off of the year in the prestigious Rugby League International Federation International Player of the Year Awards, which are handed out at the Tower of London tomorrow (Wednesday).

After winning the Man Of Steel on top of the Albert Goldthorpe Medal and several club player of the year awards, Chase is now one of five players named in the shortlist for the stand-off shirt in the mythical International awards, alongside Australia captain Darren Lockyer, New Zealand captain Benji Marshall, Kieran Foran, of Manly Sea Eagles, and James Maloney, of New Zealand Warriors.

The shortlists for the 2011 RLIF International Player of the Year awards in full are:

Rookie of the Year

Matt Duffie (Melbourne Storm and New Zealand)

Jamal Idris (Canterbury Bulldogs and Australia)

Jharal Yow Yeh (Brisbane Broncos and Australia)

Referee of the Year

Tony Archer (Australia)

Phil Bentham (England)

Matt Cecchin (Australia)

Coach of the Year

Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm)

Des Hasler (Manly Sea Eagles)

Brian McDermott (Leeds Rhinos)

Full-back of the Year

Matt Bowen (North Queensland Cowboys)

Brett Hodgson (Warrington Wolves)

Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

Brett Stewart (Manly Sea Eagles)

Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors)

Winger of the Year

Nathan Merritt (South Sydney)

Joel Monaghan (Warrington Wolves)

Jason Nightingale (St George Illawarra)

Akuila Uate (Newcastle Knights)

Jharal Yow Yeh (Brisbane Broncos)

Centre of the Year

George Carmont (Wigan Warriors

Matt Cooper (St George Illawarra)

Justin Hodges (Brisbane Broncos)

Jamie Lyon (Manly Sea Eagles)

Willie Tonga (North Queensland Cowboys)

Stand-off of the Year

Rangi Chase (Castleford Tigers)

Kieran Foran (Manly Sea Eagles)

Darren Lockyer (Brisbane Broncos)

James Maloney (New Zealand Warriors)

Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers)

Scrum-half of the Year

Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles)

Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

Scott Dureau (Catalan Dragons)

Jonny Lomax (St Helens)

Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Prop of the Year

Adam Blair (Melbourne Storm)

Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)

Keith Galloway (Wests Tigers)

James Graham (St Helens)

Matt Scott (North Queensland)

Hooker of the Year

Thomas Leuluai (Wigan Warriors)

Issac Luke (South Sydney)

Michael Monaghan (Warrington Wolves)

James Roby (St Helens)

Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Second row of the Year

Feleti Mateo (New Zealand Warriors)

Steve Menzies (Catalan Dragons)

Tariq Sims (North Queensland Cowboys)

Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)

Ben Westwood (Warrington Wolves)

Loose forward of the Year

Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)

Luke Lewis (Penrith Panthers)

Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors)

Glenn Stewart (Manly Sea Eagles)

Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos)

Player of the Year

Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers)

Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)