Powell is top coach yet again

editorial image

FEATHERSTONE Rovers boss Daryl Powell has won the Championship coach of the year award for the second year running.

Powell, who has guided Rovers team to a second successive League Leaders’ Shield and Grand Final, received the award ahead of Batley Bulldogs coach Karl Harrison and Leigh Centurions boss Ian Millward, both of whom will be leaving their current clubs to take up roles at Halifax and Castleford Tigers, respectively, next season.

Leigh’s Jamie Ellis won the Championship player of the year and young player of the year awards. He beat off stiff competition from team-mate Chris Hill and 2010 player of the year Liam Finn (Featherstone) to clinch the top prize.

Rovers coach Powell is pictured with his trophy at last night’s (Tuesday) awards dinner in Manchester.