Seven Rovers players selected

editorial image
Share this article

SEVEN Featherstone Rovers Ladies players have been selected for the England women’s 20-strong touring squad that will travel to the south of France for a two-Test series against their French counterparts in Avignon this Saturday and next Wednesday.

They are Natalie Gilmour (pictured), Lindsay Anfield, Kim Field, Hannah Bairstow, Emma Slowe, Danielle Titterington and Gemma Walsh.

Gilmour has been named joint captain with Beth Sutcliffe (Warrington).

New coach Anthony Sullivan believes the two captains will work well together.

He said: “I think that both girls set good standards, both on and off the field. They lead by example and the combination of one playing in the backs and the other as a forward will work well for the team.

“They are both experienced players that the younger players look up to and learn from. As joint captains they will bring a lot to the team and I am positive they will make a difference.”

Sullivan has retained 15 players from the squad that travelled to New Zealand last season where they suffered a disappointing 2-0 series defeat to the Kiwis and he is looking to make an overall improvement.

“The players won’t dwell on last year’s results,” said Sullivan, who took over as England coach in March.

“It is about moving forward and continually improving, which is what I am looking for. Everyone has been working really hard in training and I have been impressed by the enthusiasm of the players.

“We are expecting a tough match against France and they will give us a good contest which is what we want.” The full squad (with the players’ winter and/or summer club) is:

Natalie Gilmour (captain, Featherstone Rovers), Beth Sutcliffe (captain, Warrington), Lindsay Anfield (Featherstone Rovers), Danielle Bose (Bradford Thunderbirds), Hannah Bairstow (Hunslet Hawks, Featherstone Rovers), Kim Field (Featherstone Rovers), Kirsty Moroney (Bradford Thunderbirds), Rachel Twibill (Bradford Thunderbirds), Emma Slowe (Featherstone Rovers), Rebecca Williams (Nottingham Outlaws), Danielle Titterington (Featherstone Rovers), Holly Freestone (Copeland Wildcats, Warrington), Amanda Donaldson (Copeland Wildcats, Warrington), Emily Rudge (Warrington), Jodie Cunningham (Warrington), Clare Robinson (Warrington), Joanne Watmore (Warrington), Gemma Walsh (Featherstone Rovers, Warrington), Lois Forsell (Hunslet Hawks), Danielle Bound (Warrington).