Sperrin’s sparkling show gives Glasshoughton edge

Former Leicestershire county player Peter Hepworth claimed 5-17 in Ackworth's win at Monk Bretton.
Former Leicestershire county player Peter Hepworth claimed 5-17 in Ackworth's win at Monk Bretton.

All-rounder Rob Sperrin gave an outstanding display as Glasshoughton made a winning start to their Pontefract League Division Three campaign by beating Normanton by 23 runs.

Opener Sperrin finished unbeaten on 123 as Glasshoughton posted 198-7 which also included 20 from Garry Mapplebeck.

In reply, Sperrin (4-34) and Andrew Wright (4-37) bowled out Normanton for 175.

Lee Stuckey (57) and Ian Ellam (46) led Normanton’s scoring.

Hundhill Hall, who along with Glasshoughton narrowly missed promotion last season, lost by 37 runs to Rossington Main.

Sam Malyan (4-40), Peter Ferguson (3-11) and Reece Johnson (2-32) bowled out promoted Rossington for 167.

Hundhill’s reply started badly and they eventually fell for 130 despite Chris Walton’s battling 35 and Andrew Hurcomb’s 22.

Streethouse 2nds lost a high-scoring game against Darton at Whinney Lane.

The visitors piled up a formidable 275-1 with an unbroken second wicket stand between Andrew Wood (140no) and Matt Foster (109no).

Mark Gibbons (107) led Streethouse’s spirited reply, with excellent support from Jason Holmes (49), as they finished on 230-7.

Defending Division One champions Old Sharlston lost their opening game at South Kirkby.

Dale Woolsey and Steve Secker, who each hit 69, put on 140 to steer Kirkby to 212-4.

In reply, Sharlston were skittled for 111 by Dave Rollin (3-25), Brayden Clark (2-27) and Max Heritage (2-27).

Last season’s runners-up Ackworth won by seven wickets at Monk Bretton who were limited to 154-8 by Peter Hepworth (5-17).

Joe Seedon (61no) and Dale Longfield (44) led the way as Ackworth knocked off the runs in 36 overs.

Fairburn, who won the championship in 2012, defeated 10-times champions Streethouse by 47 runs.

Craig Piggott (40) and Ryan Greatrick (27) top-scored in Fairburn’s total of 179-8.

Ismail Patel (4-38) was Streethouse’s best bowler.

Openers Jonathan Hughes (40) and Lee Ogden (20) gave Streethouse’s reply an excellent start with a 75-run stand but Paul Clark (5-23) and Piggott (3-21) then sent them collapsing to 132 all out.

Promoted Allerton Bywater lost by two wickets at Barnby Dun on their return to Division Two.

Mohammed Tokir (33) was the only batsman who made an impact as Allerton were dismissed for 128 by Mark Nurse (7-35).

Gareth Portman (6-39) gave Barnby’s batsmen plenty of problems but they were rescued by Sam Millward’s unbeaten 38.

Featherstone, relegated last season, coasted to an eight wicket win at Crofton who were toppled for 123.

Jason Picken (57no), Adam Perry (33no) and Dan Robbinson (3-18) shone for Featherstone.

Rothwell, the other relegated side, were too good for Knottingley.

Skipper Andrew Bedford’s battling 32 was in vain as Knottingley were bowled out for 117 in an eight-wicket defeat.

Lewis Longstaff (53no) and Matt Draper (3-58) were Whitley Bridge’s best performers in a 72-run defeat at Hatfield.

In Division Four, Ferrybridge lost by 51 runs to Sykehouse. Joe Angell (4-30) restricted Sykehouse to 112-9 but Ferrybridge managed only 61 in reply.

Ackworth 2nds collected only three points from a 127-run home defeat against Monk Bretton 2nds

Ackworth’s defeat was tough on all-rounder James Horbury (45 and 5-64) who was their top scorer and best bowler.

Ian Raynor (84no) and Lee Dobson (4-38) were the match-winners as Fairburn 2nds beat Featherstone 2nds by one wicket in Division Five.

Thorpe Audlin were skittled for 105 in a two-wicket defeat against Fishlake 2nds.

Whitley Bridge 2nds were bowled out for 134 chasing a 215-run target set by Hatfield 2nds.

In Division Seven, Glasshoughton 2nds beat Ferrybridge 2nds by 103 runs.

A sparkling 95 from Liam Bloomer and a first club half-century from Rich Hopton, who made 56, steered Glasshoughton to 238-4.

In reply, Ferrybridge struggled to 135 all out, with only Rob Brain (46) making any impression. Glasshoughton’s Peter Cockcroft, now in his 60th season of senior cricket, claimed 4-47.

Thorpe Audlin 2nds were routed for 79 in a 39 run loss at Bentley and Allerton Bywater 2nds fell for 65 in a 38-run defeat against Brodsworth.

Adrian Swales (54) and Darren Green (6-11) led Knottingley 2nds to a 64-run victory against Eggborough.

Saturday’s results:

Division 1: *Fairburn 179-8 (C Piggott 40; I Patel 4-38), Streethouse 132 (J Hughes 40; P Clark 5-23); Nostell 96 (I Walker 4-21, R Pearson 3-7), *Fishlake 97-7 (L Hurst 5-26); Stainborough 165 (J Steers 44; A Dyke 4-40), *Hooton Pagnell 126 (P Archer 5-11); *South Kirkby 212-4 (S Secker 69, D Woolsey 69), Old Sharlston 111 (D Rollin 3-25); Frickley Colliery 99 (I Hayre 45; C Bond 4-3), *Wombwell Main 100-2; *Monk Bretton 154-8 (J Green 46, D Compton 39; P Hepworth 5-17), Ackworth 156-3 (J Seddon 61no, D Longfield 44).

Division 2: West Bretton 134 (T Rushworth 31; S Mantovani 4-32, J Gillies 4-45), *Askern 90 (C Degnan 6-24); Allerton Bywater 128 (M Tokir 33; M Nurse 7-35), *Barnby Dun 130-8 (S Millward 38no; G Portman 6-39); *Crofton 123 (R Cooper 39; D Robinson 3-18), Featherstone 124-2 (J Picken 57no, A Perry 33no); *Hatfield 214-5 (J Stewart 100no, K Buxton 32; M Draper 3-58), Whitley Bridge 142-6 (L Longstaff 53no); *Hemsworth 155-9 (A Briggs 41; W Henshaw 4-40), Sandal 108-8 (K Dransfield 43); Knottingley 117 (R Hopwood 6-34, T Steel 3-24), *Rothwell 119-1 (J Lumb 47no, S Booth 37no).

Division 3: *Brodsworth 108-9, Brook-Walton 109-5; Rossington Main 167, *Hundhill Hall 130; *Kilnhurst Colliery 150, Yorkshire Main 107; Glasshoughton 198-7, *Normanton 175; Darton 275-1, *Streethouse 230-7; Bentley Colliery 75, *Thurnscoe 79-6.

Division 4: Monk Bretton 242-8, *Ackworth 115-9; Sykehouse 112-9, *Ferrybridge 61; South Kirkby 136, *Hensall 140-4; *Newton Hill 178-7, Ryhill 100; *Notton 183-6, Garforth 68.

Division 5: *Featherstone 102, Fairburn 103-9; Wombwell 104, *Fenwick 78; Thurnscoe 204-9, *Old Sharlston 83; Rothwell 152, *Pledwick 153-6; *Stainborough 132, Bullcroft Main 133-7; *Thorpe Audlin 105, Fishlake 106-8.

Division 6: Hundhill Hall 180-8, *Barnsley 96-6; *Darton 174-7, Stanley 116; *Pollington 183-6, Crofton 140-9; Hemsworth 125, *Sandal 130-7; *Wakefield Thornes 46, Barnby Dun 48-5; Hatfield 215-9, *Whitley Bridge 134.

Division 7: Brodsworth 103, *Allerton Bywater 65; *Bentley 118-8, Thorpe Audlin 79; *Glasshoughton 238-4, Ferrybridge 135; *Knottingley 154-9, Eggborough 90; Pledwick 134, *Stanley 83; Hooton Pagnell 193-7, West Bretton 178.

Division 8: Notton 202-7, *Garforth 93; Hensall 107, *Nostell 68; *Rossington 84, Askern 85-8; Peglers 65, *Ryhill 66-4; *Sykehouse 95, Normanton 97-5.