Sports Awards winners announced

editorial image
Share this article

After much deliberation, the judging panel has selected its sports stars in this year’s Wakefield and Dewsbury District Sports Awards and we can now reveal the lucky winners.

Last year was a sensational one for local sporting success and we were inundated with your nominations in the 11 award categories that recognised the achievements of junior and senior sports stars and teams from across the Wakefield and Dewsbury districts.

Our readers submitted nominations via email as well as our dedicated awards web page and the fantastic achievements of those nominated made picking just one winner an incredibly difficult test for our judging panel.

However, the winners were eventually chosen and they are as follows:

Male Sports Star of the Year: Kashif Naveed.

Female Sports Star of the Year: Julie Briscoe.

Female Junior Sports Star of the Year (U18s): Annabel Mason.

Male Junior Sports Star of the Year (U18s): Ollie Wood.

Women’s Team of the Year: Pontefract Squash Club.

Men’s Team of the Year: Morley Cricket Club firsts.

School Team of the Year: Castleford Academy National Finals Rugby League teams.

Junior Team of the Year (U18s): Wakefield Hockey Club U16s Girls.

Disabled Performance of the Year: Nichola Rock.

Manager/Coach of the Year: Castleford Academy’s PE Department.

Lifetime Achievement of the Year: Stephen Spurr.

Letters have been sent to the winners confirming their success and we will be bringing you a report and pictures of the triumphant individuals and teams with their trophies in a special supplement in the coming weeks.