Steve is a good all-round guy for Knottingley

editorial image

KNOTTINGLEY put their Pontefract League Division Four promotion bid back on track by beating Hundhill Hall on Saturday.

All-rounder Steve Mowbray (pictured) was outstanding in Knottingley’s four-wicket win which lifted them to second in the table.

Mowbray (5-32) reduced Hundhill to 25-3 before Simon Jewitt led a fightback, hitting five fours and one six in an excellent 32.

Simon Leach (21), Josh Gill (20), Sam Malyan (18) and Peter Ferguson (18) also made useful contributions as Hundhill finished on 158.

Openers Mowbray (54) and Andy Bedford (37) gave Knottingley’s reply a great start with an 89-run stand.

Mobray struck 11 boundaries and Bedford hit one six and five fours.

Knottingley slipped to 99-4 before Scott Haigh (40no) steadied the ship to steer them safely home.

Hundhill’s most successful bowler was Sam Malyan (2-25).

Leaders Streethouse A stayed on course for the championship by crushing bottom side Bullcroft Main who were skittled for 69.

Liam Geddis hit 56 as Streethouse cruised to a nine-wicket win that increased their lead to 19 points.

Division Five pacesetters Ferrybridge Power Station beat Darton A by four wickets.

Jack Hart (3-32) and Mobeen Aslam (3-25) limited Darton to 169, which included 50 from opener Andy Birkill.

Openers Richard Wood (34) and Hart (12) gave Ferrybridge’s reply a solid start but wickets then began to tumble before Aslam (58no) and Steve Wood (43) went to the rescue by sharing a match-winning partnership.

Ferrybridge are six points clear of second-placed Peglers who beat Barnby Dun A.

Andy Brown’s battling 58, which included eight fours, was in vain for Whitley Bridge A in a seven wicket defeat against Featherstone A.

Brown, Adam Vodden (22) and Will Thorne (21) led Whitley to 124-6 which Featherstone comfortably overhauled.

Featherstone’s Craig Robinson struck 11 boundaries in an unbeaten half-century and shared an unbroken 78-run stand with David Hiorns (24no).

Thorpe Audlin have a commanding 20-point lead in Division Six after coasting to a nine-wicket against Hundhill Hall A who were skittled for 107.

Fairburn A’s Division Seven promotion bid was dented when lost by four wickets at Knottingley A.

Craig Tucker (5-32), Abdul Ghaffar (3-11) and John Clark (2-36) sent Fairburn reeling to 111 all out after Rhys Weaver (27) and Steve Harrison (21) had given them a useful start.

In reply, Clark struck two sixes and six fours in a sparkling 43 to guide Knottingley home, with help from Ghaffar (25) and Bryan Dunn (22).

Andrew Clegg (3-33) and Gareth Weaver (2-28) were Fairburn’s best bowlers.

Glasshoughton A’s good run continued when they beat Brodsworth Main A by three wickets.

Craig Smith snapped up 4-17 from 14 overs as Brodsworth were bowled out for 141.

Glasshoughton’s early order batted well to give their reply a good start and although wickets fell at regular intervals Liam Bloomer sealed victory with an excellent unbeaten 35.

Ferrybridge Power Station A moved closer to clinching the Division Eight championship by increasing their lead to 21 points with a six-wicket success against closest rivals Fenwick who were toppled for 109 by James Metcalfe (4-15), Andy Adams (4-36) and Paul Snowdon (2-46).

Marc Lumb top scored with 28 as Ferrybridge knocked off the runs.